advertisement
Artificial Intelligence 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

'Spooky' Similarity in How Brains and Computers See

The brain detects 3D shape fragments (bumps, hollows, shafts, spheres) in the beginning stages of object vision - a newly discovered strategy of natural intelligence that researchers also found in ...

Material Found in House Paint May Spur Technology Revolution

The development of a new method to make non-volatile computer memory may have unlocked a problem that has been holding back machine learning and has the potential to revolutionize technologies like ...

All-Terrain Microrobot Flips Through a Live Colon

A rectangular robot as tiny as a few human hairs can travel throughout a colon by doing back flips, engineers have demonstrated in live animal ...

Scientists Develop 'Mini-Brains' to Help Robots Recognize Pain and to Self-Repair

Using a brain-inspired approach, scientists have developed a way for robots to have the artificial intelligence (AI) to recognize pain and to ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Engineers Pre-Train AI Computers to Make Them Even More Powerful

Engineers have developed a new machine-learning method that paves the way for artificial intelligence to be used in applications that until now have been deemed too sensitive. The method, which has ...

New Theory Predicts Movement of Different Animals Using Sensing to Search

A research team has developed a new theory that can predict the movement of an animal's sensory organs -- such as eyes, ears and nose -- while searching for something vital to its ...

A Computer Predicts Your Thoughts, Creating Images Based on Them

Researchers have developed a technique in which a computer models visual perception by monitoring human brain signals. In a way, it is as if the computer tries to imagine what a human is thinking ...

The Brain's Memory Abilities Inspire AI Experts in Making Neural Networks Less 'Forgetful'

Artificial intelligence (AI) experts report that they have successfully addressed what they call a 'major, long-standing obstacle to increasing AI capabilities' by drawing inspiration from ...

New Data Processing Module Makes Deep Neural Networks Smarter

Artificial intelligence researchers have improved the performance of deep neural networks by combining feature normalization and feature attention modules into a single module that they call ...

Security Software for Autonomous Vehicles

Before autonomous vehicles participate in road traffic, they must demonstrate conclusively that they do not pose a danger to others. New software prevents accidents by predicting different variants ...

Future Autonomous Machines May Build Trust Through Emotion

Research has extended the state-of-the-art in autonomy by providing a more complete picture of how actions and nonverbal signals contribute to promoting cooperation. Researchers suggested guidelines ...

Light Processing Improves Robotic Sensing, Study Finds

A team of researchers uncovered how the human brain processes bright and contrasting light, which they say is a key to improving robotic sensing and enabling autonomous agents to team with ...

Experiments Reveal Why Human-Like Robots Elicit Uncanny Feelings

Experiments reveal a dynamic process that leads to the uncanny valley, with implications for both the design of robots and for understanding how we perceive one another as ...

Tool Transforms World Landmark Photos Into 4D Experiences

Using publicly available tourist photos of world landmarks such as the Trevi Fountain in Rome or Top of the Rock in New York City, researchers have developed a method to create maneuverable 3D images ...

Autonomous Robot Plays With NanoLEGO

Atoms and molecules behave in a completely different way to macroscopic objects and each brick requires its own 'instruction manual'. Scientists have now developed an artificial ...

An Embedded Ethics Approach for AI Development

The increasing use of AI (artificial intelligence) in the development of new medical technologies demands greater attention to ethical aspects. An interdisciplinary team advocates the integration of ...

One of the biggest impediments to adoption of new technologies is trust in artificial intelligence (AI). Now, a new tool generates automatic indicators if data and predictions generated by AI ...

Brain-Inspired Electronic System Could Vastly Reduce AI's Carbon Footprint

Extremely energy-efficient artificial intelligence is now closer to reality after researchers found a way to improve the accuracy of a brain-inspired computing ...

New Neural Network Differentiates Middle and Late Stone Age Toolkits

The change from Middle Stone Age (MSA) to Later Stone Age (LSA) marks a major cultural change amongst our hunter-gatherer ancestors, but distinguishing between these two industrial complexes is not ...

Don't Forget to Clean Robotic Support Pets, Study Says

Robotic support pets used to reduce depression in older adults and people with dementia acquire bacteria over time, but a simple cleaning procedure can help them from spreading illnesses, according ...

Microscopic Robots 'Walk' Thanks to Laser Tech

A collaboration has created the first microscopic robots that incorporate semiconductor components, allowing them to be controlled - and made to walk - with standard electronic ...

Cutting Surgical Robots Down to Size

Teleoperated surgical robots are becoming commonplace in operating rooms, but many are massive (sometimes taking up an entire room) and difficult to manipulate. Medical researchers and engineers have ...

Beam Me Up: Researchers Use 'Behavioral Teleporting' to Study Social Interactions

Researchers have devised a novel approach to getting physically separated fish to interact with each other, leading to insights about what kinds of cues influence social ...

Robo-Teammate Can Detect, Share 3D Changes in Real-Time

Something is different, and you can't quite put your finger on it. But your robot ...

Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020