advertisement
Quantum Computers 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Extreme Events in Quantum Cascade Lasers

Based on a quantum cascade laser (QCL) emitting mid-infrared light, the researchers developed a basic optical neuron system operating 10,000× faster than biological ...

Quantum Engines With Entanglement as Fuel?

It's still more science fiction than science fact, but perfect energy efficiency may be one step closer due to new research by ...

Researchers Discover a Uniquely Quantum Effect in Erasing Information

Researchers have discovered a uniquely quantum effect in erasing information that may have significant implications for the design of quantum computing chips. Their surprising discovery brings back ...

New Detector Breakthrough Pushes Boundaries of Quantum Computing

A new article shows potential for graphene bolometers to become a game-changer for quantum ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Physicist Joins International Effort to Unveil the Behavior of 'Strange Metals'

Physicists have solved the puzzle of the NFL behavior in interacting electrons systems, and provided a protocol for the establishment of new paradigms in quantum metals, through quantum many-body ...

Physicists Develop a Method to Improve Gravitational Wave Detector Sensitivity

Gravitational wave detectors opened a new window to the universe by measuring the ripples in spacetime produced by colliding black holes and neutron stars, but they are ultimately limited by quantum ...

Spin Clean-Up Method Brings Practical Quantum Computers Closer to Reality

Researchers create a quantum algorithm that removes spin contaminants while making chemical calculations on quantum computers. This allows for predictions of electronic and molecular behavior with ...

New Possibilities for Working With Quantum Information

The spin of particles can be manipulated by a magnetic field. This principle is the basic idea behind magnetic resonance imaging as used in hospitals. A surprising effect has now been discovered in ...

A Question of Reality

Physicists have published a review that explores Bell's inequalities and his concepts of reality and explains their relevance to quantum information and its ...

Why There Is No Speed Limit in the Superfluid Universe

Physicists have established why objects moving through superfluid helium-3 lack a speed limit; exotic particles that stick to all surfaces in the superfluid. The discovery may guide applications in ...

New Design Principles for Spin-Based Quantum Materials

A new design criteria for enhancing the spin lifetime of a class of quantum materials could support Internet of Things devices and other resource-intensive ...

Reviewing the Quantum Material 'Engine Room'

An Australian collaboration reviews the quantum anomalous Hall effect (QAHE), one of the most fascinating and important recent discoveries in condensed-matter physics. QAHE allows zero-resistance ...

Single Photons from a Silicon Chip

Quantum technology holds great promise: Quantum computers are expected to revolutionize database searches, AI systems, and computational simulations. Today already, quantum cryptography can guarantee ...

Evidence of Power: Phasing Quantum Annealers Into Experiments from Nonequilibrium Physics

Scientists have used commercially available quantum annealers, a type of quantum computer, to experimentally probe the validity of an important mechanism from nonequilibrium physics in open quantum ...

New Machine Learning-Assisted Method Rapidly Classifies Quantum Sources

Engineers have created a new machine learning-assisted method that could make quantum photonic circuit development more efficient by rapidly pre-selecting these solid-state quantum ...

Quirky Response to Magnetism Presents Quantum Physics Mystery

Scientists describe the quirky behavior of one such magnetic topological insulator. The new article includes experimental evidence that intrinsic magnetism in the bulk of manganese bismuth telluride ...

New Method Prevents Quantum Computers from Crashing

Quantum information is fragile, which is why quantum computers must be able to correct errors. But what if whole qubits are lost? Researchers are now presenting a method that allows quantum computers ...

Quantum Light Squeezes the Noise out of Microscopy Signals

Researchers used quantum optics to advance state-of-the-art microscopy and illuminate a path to detecting material properties with greater sensitivity than is possible with traditional ...

Extracting Order from a Quantum Measurement Finally Shown Experimentally

In physics, it is essential to be able to show a theoretical assumption in actual, physical experiments. For more than a hundred years, physicists have been aware of the link between the concepts of ...

New Technology Lets Quantum Bits Hold Information for 10,000 Times Longer Than Previous Record

Quantum bits, or qubits, can hold quantum information much longer now thanks to efforts by an international research team. The researchers have increased the retention time, or coherence time, to 10 ...

Nanoearthquakes Control Spin Centers in SiC

Researchers have demonstrated the use of elastic vibrations to manipulate the spin states of optically active color centers in SiC at room temperature. They show a non-trivial dependence of the ...

Quantum Leap for Speed Limit Bounds

Nature's speed limits aren't posted on road signs, but physicists have discovered a new way to deduce them that is better -- infinitely better, in some cases -- than prior ...

Revolutionary Quantum Breakthrough Paves Way for Safer Online Communication

The world is one step closer to having a totally secure internet and an answer to the growing threat of cyber-attacks, thanks to a team of international scientists who have created a unique prototype ...

A Molecular Approach to Quantum Computing

Molecules in quantum superposition could help in the development of quantum ...

Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020