advertisement
Robotics 211Ʊ
October 21, 2020

Top Headlines
 

All-Terrain Microrobot Flips Through a Live Colon

A rectangular robot as tiny as a few human hairs can travel throughout a colon by doing back flips, engineers have demonstrated in live animal ...

Scientists Develop 'Mini-Brains' to Help Robots Recognize Pain and to Self-Repair

Using a brain-inspired approach, scientists have developed a way for robots to have the artificial intelligence (AI) to recognize pain and to ...

New Deep Learning Models: Fewer Neurons, More Intelligence

An international research team has developed a new artificial intelligence system based on the brains of tiny animals, such as threadworms. This novel AI-system can control a vehicle with just a few ...

Using Robotic Assistance to Make Colonoscopy Kinder and Easier

Scientists have made a breakthrough in their work to develop semi-autonomous colonoscopy, using a robot to guide a medical device into the body. The milestone brings closer the prospect of an ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Applying Artificial Intelligence to Science Education

A new review highlights the potential of machine learning--a subset of artificial intelligence -- in science ...

How Mobile Apps Grab Our Attention

Researchers have done the first empirical study on how users pay visual attention to mobile app ...

When Bots Do the Negotiating, Humans More Likely to Engage in Deceptive Techniques

Researchers found that whether humans would embrace a range of deceptive and sneaky negotiating techniques was dependent both on the humans' prior negotiating experience in negotiating as well ...

New Data Processing Module Makes Deep Neural Networks Smarter

Artificial intelligence researchers have improved the performance of deep neural networks by combining feature normalization and feature attention modules into a single module that they call ...

Future Autonomous Machines May Build Trust Through Emotion

Research has extended the state-of-the-art in autonomy by providing a more complete picture of how actions and nonverbal signals contribute to promoting cooperation. Researchers suggested guidelines ...

Artificial Intelligence System Developed to Help Better Select Embryos for Implantation

Researchers are developing an artificial intelligence system with the goal of improving IVF success by helping embryologists objectively select embryos most likely to result in a healthy ...

Experiments Reveal Why Human-Like Robots Elicit Uncanny Feelings

Experiments reveal a dynamic process that leads to the uncanny valley, with implications for both the design of robots and for understanding how we perceive one another as ...

Positive Results for ReWalk ReStore Exosuit in Stroke Rehabilitation

Scientists at five sites tested the soft robotic wearable exosuit for safety, reliability and feasibility in gait rehabilitation for individuals with mobility impairment ...

Artificial Intelligence Aids Gene Activation Discovery

Scientists have long known that human genes are activated through instructions delivered by the precise order of our DNA. With the aid of artificial intelligence, researchers have solved a ...

New Perception Metric Balances Reaction Time, Accuracy

Researchers have developed a new metric for evaluating how well self-driving cars respond to changing road conditions and traffic, making it possible for the first time to compare perception systems ...

Autonomous Robot Plays With NanoLEGO

Atoms and molecules behave in a completely different way to macroscopic objects and each brick requires its own 'instruction manual'. Scientists have now developed an artificial ...

Miniature Antenna Enables Robotic Teaming in Complex Environments

A new, miniature, low-frequency antenna with enhanced bandwidth will enable robust networking among compact, mobile robots in complex ...

An Embedded Ethics Approach for AI Development

The increasing use of AI (artificial intelligence) in the development of new medical technologies demands greater attention to ethical aspects. An interdisciplinary team advocates the integration of ...

New Electronic Skin Can React to Pain Like Human Skin

New pain-sensing prototype mimics the body's near-instant feedback response and reacts to painful sensations with the same lighting speed that nerve signals travel to the brain. It's a ...

One of the biggest impediments to adoption of new technologies is trust in artificial intelligence (AI). Now, a new tool generates automatic indicators if data and predictions generated by AI ...

Don't Forget to Clean Robotic Support Pets, Study Says

Robotic support pets used to reduce depression in older adults and people with dementia acquire bacteria over time, but a simple cleaning procedure can help them from spreading illnesses, according ...

Microscopic Robots 'Walk' Thanks to Laser Tech

A collaboration has created the first microscopic robots that incorporate semiconductor components, allowing them to be controlled - and made to walk - with standard electronic ...

Cutting Surgical Robots Down to Size

Teleoperated surgical robots are becoming commonplace in operating rooms, but many are massive (sometimes taking up an entire room) and difficult to manipulate. Medical researchers and engineers have ...

Beam Me Up: Researchers Use 'Behavioral Teleporting' to Study Social Interactions

Researchers have devised a novel approach to getting physically separated fish to interact with each other, leading to insights about what kinds of cues influence social ...

Robo-Teammate Can Detect, Share 3D Changes in Real-Time

Something is different, and you can't quite put your finger on it. But your robot ...

Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020