advertisement
Energy and the Environment 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

A Renewable Solution to Keep Cool in a Warming World

Month-after-month, year-after-year, the world continues to experience record high temperatures. In response to this and exacerbated by a growing global population, it is expected that ...

A New Material for Separating CO2 from Industrial Waste Gases, Natural Gas, or Biogas

With a new material, the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide (CO2) can be specifically separated from industrial waste gases, natural gas, or biogas, and ...

Colorful Perovskites: Thermochromic Window Technologies

Scientists report a breakthrough in developing a next-generation thermochromic window that not only reduces the need for air conditioning but simultaneously generates ...

Radiative Cooler That Cools Down Even Under Sunlight

Now that autumn is upon us, there is a large temperature gap between day and night. This is due to the temperature inversion caused by radiative cooling on the Earth's surface. Heat from the sun ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Energy System 2050: Solutions for the Energy Transition

To contribute to global climate protection, Germany has to rapidly and comprehensively minimize the use of fossil energy sources and to transform the energy system ...

Fraction of Money Earmarked for COVID-19 Recovery Could Boost Climate Efforts

Global stimulus plans for economic recovery after the pandemic could easily cover climate-friendly policies, suggests a new ...

Artificial Cyanobacterial Biofilm Can Sustain Green Ethylene Production for Over a Month

Ethylene is one of the most important and widely used organic chemicals. A research group has designed a thin-layer artificial biofilm with embedded cyanobacterial cell factories which were ...

Physicists Observe Room-Temperature Superconductivity

Physicists have made a breakthrough in the long sought-after quest for a room-temperature superconductor, what they call the 'holy grail' of energy ...

While the ongoing coronavirus pandemic continues to threaten millions of lives around the world, the first half of 2020 saw an unprecedented decline in carbon dioxide emissions -- larger than during ...

Mathematical Tools Predict If Wave-Energy Devices Stay Afloat in the Ocean

Ocean waves represent an abundant source of renewable energy. But to best use this natural resource, wave-energy converters need to be capable of physically handling ocean waves of different ...

Mental Accounting Is Impacting Sustainable Behavior

Human beings tend to create separate mental budget compartments where specific acts of consumption and payments are linked. This mechanism can be counter-productive when it comes to energy ...

People Can Do More Than Use Less Plastic to Help Save the Great Barrier Reef

There are many threats to Australia's Great Barrier Reef - cyclones, shipping, crown-of-thorns starfish - but QUT researchers say climate change is its worst enemy. Yet a survey they conducted ...

New Solar Panel Design Could Lead to Wider Use of Renewable Energy

Researchers say the breakthrough could lead to the production of thinner, lighter and more flexible solar panels that could be used to power more homes and be used in a wider range of ...

Climate Change Could Mean Fewer Sunny Days for Hot Regions Banking on Solar Power

Changes to regional climates brought on by global warming could make it so that areas such as the American Southwest that are currently considered ideal for solar power would be less viable in the ...

New Findings Pave the Way to Environmentally Friendly Supercapacitors

Similar to batteries, supercapacitors are suitable for the repeated storage of electrical energy. Researchers have now presented a particularly safe and sustainable variant of such a ...

Climate-Friendly Cooling to Help Ease Global Warming

A new study shows that coordinated international action on energy-efficient, climate-friendly cooling could avoid as much as 600 billion tons CO2 equivalent of greenhouse gas emissions in this ...

Team Extracts More Energy from Sunlight With Advanced Solar Panels

Researchers working to maximize solar panel efficiency said layering advanced materials atop traditional silicon is a promising path to eke more energy out of sunlight. A new study shows that by ...

Teaching an Old Spectroscope New Tricks

Researchers have improved a method for probing semiconducting crystals with light to detect defects and impurities. The details of their 'omnidirectional photoluminescence (ODPL) ...

Two's a Crowd: Nuclear and Renewables Don't Mix

If countries want to lower emissions as substantially, rapidly and cost-effectively as possible, they should prioritize support for renewables, rather than nuclear power, the findings of a major new ...

Blocking Vibrations That Remove Heat Could Boost Efficiency of Next-Gen Solar Cells

A study of a solar-energy material with a bright future revealed a way to slow phonons, the waves that transport heat. The discovery could improve novel hot-carrier solar cells, which convert ...

Chemical Innovation Stabilizes Best-Performing Perovskite Formulation

Researchers have successfully overcome a limiting problem with stabilizing the best-performing formulation of metal-halide perovskite films, a key player in a range of applications, including solar ...

Decent Living for All Does Not Have to Cost the Earth

A new study reveals that decent living standards could be provided to the entire global population of 10 billion that is expected to be reached by 2050, for less than 40% of today's global ...

Ecological Power Storage Battery Made of Vanillin

Researchers have found a way to convert the aromatic substance vanillin into a redox-active electrolyte material for liquid batteries. The technology is an important step towards ecologically ...

Generating Renewable Hydrogen Fuel from the Sea

The power of the sun, wind and sea may soon combine to produce clean-burning hydrogen fuel, according to researchers. The team integrated water purification technology into a new proof-of-concept ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020