advertisement
Geology 211Ʊ
October 21, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Deep Magma Facilitates the Movement of Tectonic Plates

A small amount of molten rock located under tectonic plates encourages them to move. This is what scientists have recently discovered. Their new model takes into account not only the velocity of ...

Lost and Found: Geologists 'Resurrect' Missing Tectonic Plate

A team of geologists believes they have found the lost plate known as Resurrection in northern Canada by using existing mantle tomography ...

Microbial Diversity Below Seafloor Is as Rich as on Earth's Surface

For the first time, researchers have mapped the biological diversity of marine sediment, one of Earth's largest global biomes. The research team discovered that microbial diversity in the dark, ...

Glimpse Deep Into Earth's Crust Finds Heat Source That May Stabilize Continents

Rocks from the Rio Grande continental rift have provided a rare snapshot of active geology deep inside Earth's crust, revealing new evidence for how ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Earth Grows Fine Gems in Minutes

Some of Earth's finest gemstones grew in a matter of minutes. Geologists made that discovery while investigating mineral formations that are rich in lithium and rare ...

Who Is Driving Whom? Climate and Carbon Cycle in Perpetual Interaction

The current climate crisis underlines that carbon cycle perturbations can cause significant climate change. New research reveals how carbon cycle and global climate have been interacting throughout ...

Stellar Explosion in Earth's Proximity, Eons Ago

When the brightness of the star Betelgeuse dropped dramatically a few months ago, some observers suspected an impending supernova - a stellar explosion that could also cause damage on Earth. While ...

Someday, Even Wet Forests Could Burn Due to Climate Change

While today's fires are exacerbated by dry conditions, researchers found that forest fires 94 million years ago increased even in wet regions due to changes in global ...

Lessons from a Cooling Climate

Usually, talk of carbon sequestration focuses on plants: forests storing carbon in the trunks of massive trees, algae blooming and sinking to the seabed, or perhaps peatlands locking carbon away for ...

How Earthquake Swarms Arise

A new fault simulator maps out how interactions between pressure, friction and fluids rising through a fault zone can lead to slow-motion quakes and seismic ...

Flood Risks: More Accurate Data Due to COVID-19

Emerging use of Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) makes it possible to continuously measure shallow changes in elevation of Earth surface. A study now shows that the quality of these ...

Uncovering New Understanding of Earth's Carbon Cycle

A new study is examining the Earth's carbon cycle in new depth, using diamonds as breadcrumbs of insight into some of Earth's deepest geologic ...

Seismic Data Explains Continental Collision Beneath Tibet

New imagery reveals the causes of seismic activity deep beneath the Himalaya region, contributing to an ongoing debate over the continental collision process when two tectonic plates crash into each ...

Living in an Anoxic World: Microbes Using Arsenic Are a Link to Early Life

Much of life on planet Earth today relies on oxygen to exist, but before oxygen was present on our blue planet, lifeforms likely used arsenic ...

Undersea Earthquakes Shake Up Climate Science

Sound generated by seismic events on the seabed can be used to determine the temperature of Earth's warming ...

Indian Monsoon Can Be Predicted Better After Volcanic Eruptions

Large volcanic eruptions can help to forecast the monsoon over India - the seasonal rainfall that is key for the country's agriculture and thus for feeding one billion people. As erratic as they ...

Formation of the Alps: Detaching and Uplifting, Not Bulldozing

Researchers have used a computer model to test a new hypothesis about the formation of the Alps while simulating seismic activity in Switzerland. This will help improve current earthquake risk ...

Modern Theory from Ancient Impacts

It is generally accepted that the inner region of the early solar system was subject to an intense period of meteoric bombardment referred to as the late heavy bombardment. However, researchers have ...

NASA Monitors Carbon Monoxide from California Wildfires

The observations from Earth orbit show high-altitude concentrations of the gas that are more than 10 times typical ...

Volcanic Ash May Have a Bigger Impact on the Climate Than We Thought

Volcanic ash shuts down air traffic and can sicken people. But a new study suggests that it may also be more important for Earth's climate than scientists once ...

Scientists have compiled a continuous, high-fidelity record of variations in Earth's climate extending 66 million years into the past. The record reveals four distinctive climate states, which ...

Understanding Earth's 'Deep-Carbon Cycle'

New geologic findings about the makeup of the Earth's mantle are helping scientists better understand long-term climate stability and even how seismic waves move through the planet's ...

Rebirth of a Volcano

Continued volcanic activity after the collapse of a volcano has not been documented in detail so far. Now and for the first time, researchers are presenting the results of a photogrammetric data ...

New Corals Discovered in Deep-Sea Study of Great Barrier Reef Marine Park

For the first time, scientists have viewed the deepest regions of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, discovered five undescribed species consisting of black corals and sponges, and recorded ...

Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020