advertisement
Ancient DNA 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...

Ancient Tiny Teeth Reveal First Mammals Lived More Like Reptiles

Pioneering analysis of 200 million-year-old teeth belonging to the earliest mammals suggests they functioned like their cold-blooded counterparts - reptiles, leading less active but much longer ...

Scientists Reconstruct Beetles from the Cretaceous

An international research team has examined four newly found specimens of the Mysteriomorphidae beetle using computer tomography and has been able to reconstruct them. The results allow to draw ...

Toothless Dino's Lost Digits Point to Spread of Parrot-Like Species

A newly discovered species of toothless, two-fingered dinosaur has shed light on how a group of parrot-like animals thrived more than 68 million years ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Salute the Venerable Ensign Wasp, Killing Cockroaches for 25 Million Years

A new study has identified four new species of parasitic, cockroach-killing ensign wasps that became encased in tree resin 25 million years ago and were preserved as the resin fossilized into ...

Y Chromosomes of Neanderthals and Denisovans Now Sequenced

An international research team led by Martin Petr and Janet Kelso of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, has determined Y chromosome sequences of three ...

Jaws of Death: Paleontologist Renames Giant, Prehistoric Marine Lizard

Paleontologists describe a new genus of mosasaur, Gnathomortis stadtmani, a marine lizard that roamed the oceans of North America toward the end of the Age of ...

Dino Teeth Research Prove Giant Predatory Dinosaur Lived in Water

A discovery of more than a thousand dinosaur teeth proves beyond reasonable doubt that Spinosaurus, the giant predator made famous by the movie Jurassic Park III as well as the BBC documentary Planet ...

Bird Beak Revealed by Laser Imaging Informs Early Beak Function and Development

Confuciusornis was a crow-like fossil bird that lived in the Cretaceous ~120 million years ago. It was one of the first birds to evolve a beak. Early beak evolution remains understudied. Using an ...

World's Oldest Animal Sperm Found in Tiny Crustaceans Trapped in Myanmar Amber

New research has led to the discovery of world's oldest animal sperm inside a tiny crustacean trapped in amber around 100 million years ago in ...

World's Largest DNA Sequencing of Viking Skeletons Reveals They Weren't All Scandinavian

Invaders, pirates, warriors - the history books taught us that Vikings were brutal predators who travelled by sea from Scandinavia to pillage and raid their way across Europe and beyond. Now ...

Paleontology: The Oldest Known Sperm Cells

An international team of paleontologists has discovered giant sperm cells in a 100-million year-old female ostracod preserved in a sample of amber. Clearly, the tiny crustacean had mated shortly ...

Thousands of Species Recorded in a Speck of Soil

Researchers have developed a new technique to tease ancient DNA from soil, pulling the genomes of hundreds of animals and thousands of plants -- many of them long extinct -- from less than a gram of ...

An Evolutionary Roll of the Dice Explains Why We're Not Perfect

Scientists have found that chance events can be more important than natural selection in defining the genome of species like humans and other ...

In Ancient Giant Viruses Lies the Truth Behind Evolution of Nucleus in Eukaryotic Cells

An exchange of genetic material that occurred when ancient giant viruses infected ancient eukaryotic cells could have caused the nucleus of the eukaryotic cell -- its defining feature -- to form. A ...

Lost Frogs Rediscovered With Environmental DNA

Scientists have detected signs of a frog listed extinct and not seen since 1968, using an innovative technique to locate declining and missing species in two regions of ...

The Oldest Neanderthal DNA of Central-Eastern Europe

A new study reports the oldest mitochondrial genome of a Neanderthal from Central-Eastern Europe. The mitochondrial genome of the tooth, discovered at the site of Stajnia Cave in Poland, is closer to ...

Ancient Bony Fish Forces Rethink of How Sharks Evolved

Sharks' non-bony skeletons were thought to be the template before bony internal skeletons evolved, but a new fossil discovery suggests ...

A 400-Year-Old Chamois Will Serve as a Model for Research on Ice Mummies

Discovered in Val Aurina, South Tyrol (Italy) and now in the laboratory of Eurac Research's mummy experts, the remains will be studied in order to improve the conservation techniques of mummies ...

Graduate Student Names New Trace Fossil Discovered During Coursework

An intriguing fossil find has revealed fossilized tracks of a newly discovered wood-boring organism in a new ...

Early Cambrian Fossil: Bizarre Half-Billion-Year-Old Worm With Tentacles Solves Evolutionary Mystery

A half-a-billion years old fossil species of marine animal sheds light on how the anatomies of the two main types of an animal group called the hemichordates are related, and provides new evidence in ...

Newly Discovered Rare Dinosaur Embryos Show Sauropods Had Rhino-Like Horns

An incredibly rare dinosaur embryo discovered perfectly preserved inside its egg has shown scientists new details of the development and appearance of sauropods which lived 80 million years ...

Atlantic Sturgeon in the King's Pantry -- Unique Discovery in Baltic Shipwreck from 1495

Researchers can now reveal what the Danish King Hans had planned to offer when laying claim to the Swedish throne in 1495: A two-meter-long Atlantic sturgeon. The well-preserved fish remains were ...

First Complete Dinosaur Skeleton Ever Found Is Ready for Its Closeup at Last

The first complete dinosaur skeleton ever identified has finally been studied in detail and found its place in the dinosaur family tree, completing a project that began more than a century and a half ...

Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020