advertisement
Anthropology 211Ʊ
October 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Climate Change Likely Drove Early Human Species to Extinction, Modeling Study Suggests

Of the six or more different species of early humans, all belonging to the genus Homo, only we Homo sapiens have managed to survive. Now, a study ...

Modern Humans Took Detours on Their Way to Europe

Favourable climatic conditions influenced the sequence of settlement movements of Homo sapiens in the Levant on their way from Africa to Europe. In a first step, modern humans settled along the coast ...

A Tiny Jaw from Greenland Sheds Light on the Origin of Complex Teeth

Scientists have described the earliest known example of dentary bone with two rows of cusps on molars and double-rooted teeth. The new findings offer insight into mammal tooth evolution, particularly ...

Disproportionate Extinction of South American Mammals When Americas Collided Evident Today

North American mammals were the winners when the North and South American continents collided millions of years ago. New research shows that South ...
Latest Headlines
updated 1:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The Testimony of Trees: How Volcanic Eruptions Shaped 2000 Years of World History

Researchers have shown that over the past two thousand years, volcanoes have played a larger role in natural temperature variability than previously thought, and their climatic effects may have ...

Y Chromosomes of Neanderthals and Denisovans Now Sequenced

An international research team led by Martin Petr and Janet Kelso of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, has determined Y chromosome sequences of three ...

Stability Check on Antarctica Reveals High Risk for Long-Term Sea-Level Rise

The warmer it gets, the faster Antarctica loses ice - and much of it will then be gone forever. That's what a team of researchers has found out in their new study on how much warming the ...

Placing Barthelonids on the Tree of Life

Researchers have categorized barthelonids, a group of microscopic anaerobic flagellates, as an early branching Metamonada lineage based on their genetic identity and mitochondrial evolutionary ...

Computational Study of Famous Fossil Reveals Evolution of Locomotion in 'Ruling Reptiles'

Scientists used three-dimensional computer modelling to investigate the hindlimb of Euparkeria capensis -- a small reptile that lived in the Triassic Period 245 million years ago -- and inferred that ...

Mapping the 1.6 Billion People Who Live Near Forests

Global maps of places where people and forests coexist show that an estimated 1.6 billion people live within 5 kilometers of a forest. The assessment, based on data from 2000 and 2012, showed that of ...

Raids and Bloody Rituals Among Ancient Steppe Nomads

Traces of violence on 1700 year old skeletons allow researchers to reconstruct warfare and sacrifices of nomads in Siberia. An international and interdisciplinary team of anthropologists, ...

Ancient Human Footprints in Saudi Arabia Give Glimpse of Arabian Ecology 120000 Years Ago

Using high resolution paleoecological information obtained from fossilized footprints, a new study presents ~120 thousand-year-old human and animal footprints from an ancient lake bed in northern ...

Scientists Identify Gene Family Key to Unlocking Vertebrate Evolution

New research finds that the traits that make vertebrates distinct from invertebrates were made possible by the emergence of a new set of genes 500 million years ago, documenting an important episode ...

World's Largest DNA Sequencing of Viking Skeletons Reveals They Weren't All Scandinavian

Invaders, pirates, warriors - the history books taught us that Vikings were brutal predators who travelled by sea from Scandinavia to pillage and raid their way across Europe and beyond. Now ...

Historical Climate Fluctuations in Central Europe Overestimated Due to Tree Ring Analysis

Tree rings exaggerate, a team of researchers finds. Scientists deduce historical climatic conditions for the past hundreds of years from the width of the annual growth rings of trees. Previous ...

Thousands of Species Recorded in a Speck of Soil

Researchers have developed a new technique to tease ancient DNA from soil, pulling the genomes of hundreds of animals and thousands of plants -- many of them long extinct -- from less than a gram of ...

An Evolutionary Roll of the Dice Explains Why We're Not Perfect

Scientists have found that chance events can be more important than natural selection in defining the genome of species like humans and other ...

New Fossil Ape Discovered in India

A 13-million-year-old fossil unearthed in northern India comes from a newly discovered ape, the earliest known ancestor of the modern-day gibbon. The discovery fills a major void in the ape fossil ...

The Oldest Neanderthal DNA of Central-Eastern Europe

A new study reports the oldest mitochondrial genome of a Neanderthal from Central-Eastern Europe. The mitochondrial genome of the tooth, discovered at the site of Stajnia Cave in Poland, is closer to ...

Ancient Bony Fish Forces Rethink of How Sharks Evolved

Sharks' non-bony skeletons were thought to be the template before bony internal skeletons evolved, but a new fossil discovery suggests ...

A 400-Year-Old Chamois Will Serve as a Model for Research on Ice Mummies

Discovered in Val Aurina, South Tyrol (Italy) and now in the laboratory of Eurac Research's mummy experts, the remains will be studied in order to improve the conservation techniques of mummies ...

Study Reveals Lactose Tolerance Happened Quickly in Europe

A new study published in Current Biology reveals that the ability for humans to digest milk (lactase persistence) spread through Central Europe quickly in evolutionary ...

New Mathematical Method Shows How Climate Change Led to Fall of Ancient Civilization

A researcher developed a mathematical method that shows climate change likely caused the rise and fall of an ancient civilization. A new article outlines the technique he developed and shows how ...

Radiocarbon Dating and CT Scans Reveal Bronze Age Tradition of Keeping Human Remains

Using radiocarbon dating and CT scanning to study ancient bones, researchers have uncovered for the first time a Bronze Age tradition of retaining and curating human remains as relics over several ...

Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020