advertisement
Archaeology 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Ancient Maya Built Sophisticated Water Filters

Ancient Maya in the once-bustling city of Tikal built sophisticated water filters using natural materials they imported from miles away, according to new research. A multidisciplinary team of ...
The first analysis of a sedimentary drill core representing 1 million years of environmental history in the East African ...

Bronze Age Herders Were Less Mobile Than Previously Thought

Bronze Age pastoralists in what is now southern Russia apparently covered shorter distances than previously thought. It is believed that the Indo-European languages may have originated from this ...

Central Asian Horse Riders Played Ball Games 3,000 Years Ago

Researchers have investigated ancient leather balls discovered in the graves of horse riders in northwest China. According to the international research team, they are around 3,000 years old, making ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The Testimony of Trees: How Volcanic Eruptions Shaped 2000 Years of World History

Researchers have shown that over the past two thousand years, volcanoes have played a larger role in natural temperature variability than previously thought, and their climatic effects may have ...

Skeletal Study Suggests at Least 11 Fish Species Are Capable of Walking

An international team of scientists has identified at least 11 species of fish suspected to have land-walking ...

The Mathematical Values of Linear A Fraction Signs

A recent study has shed new light on the Minoan system of fractions, one of the outstanding enigmas tied to the ancient writing of ...

Ancient Bony Fish Forces Rethink of How Sharks Evolved

Sharks' non-bony skeletons were thought to be the template before bony internal skeletons evolved, but a new fossil discovery suggests ...

Study Reveals Lactose Tolerance Happened Quickly in Europe

A new study published in Current Biology reveals that the ability for humans to digest milk (lactase persistence) spread through Central Europe quickly in evolutionary ...

New Mathematical Method Shows How Climate Change Led to Fall of Ancient Civilization

A researcher developed a mathematical method that shows climate change likely caused the rise and fall of an ancient civilization. A new article outlines the technique he developed and shows how ...

Radiocarbon Dating and CT Scans Reveal Bronze Age Tradition of Keeping Human Remains

Using radiocarbon dating and CT scanning to study ancient bones, researchers have uncovered for the first time a Bronze Age tradition of retaining and curating human remains as relics over several ...

Helminth Infections Common in Medieval Europe, Grave Study Finds

Although helminth infections -- including tapeworms and roundworms -- are among the world's top neglected diseases, they are no longer endemic in Europe. However, researchers report that these ...

Vast Stone Monuments Constructed in Arabia 7,000 Years Ago

New archaeological research in Saudi Arabia documents hundreds of stone structures interpreted as monumental sites where early pastoralists carried out ...

How Dinosaur Research Can Help Medicine

The intervertebral discs connect the vertebrae and give the spine its mobility. The disc consists of a cartilaginous fibrous ring and a gelatinous core as a buffer. It has always been assumed that ...

New Species of Cretaceous Brittle Star Named in Honor of Nightwish Vocalist

Palaeontologists have discovered a previously unknown species of brittle star that lived in the shallow, warm sea which covered parts of the present-day Netherlands at the end of the Dinosaur Era. ...

Medieval Texts Reveal False Royal Navy Origins

England's proud maritime history credits Alfred the Great as having established the Royal Navy but evidence from a medieval text show this popularly held belief to be ...

Animal Mummies Unwrapped With Hi-Res 3D X-Rays

Three mummified animals from ancient Egypt have been digitally unwrapped and dissected by researchers, using high-resolution 3D scans that give unprecedented detail about the animals' lives -- ...

Remains of 17th Century Bishop Support Neolithic Emergence of Tuberculosis

Researchers present analysis of the highest quality ancient Mycobacterium tuberculosis genome to date, suggesting the pathogen is much younger than previously ...

200,000 Years Ago, Humans Preferred to Kip Cozy

Researchers in South Africa's Border Cave have found evidence that people have been using grass bedding to create comfortable areas for sleeping and working on at least 200,000 years ...

Syphilis May Have Spread Through Europe Before Columbus

Columbus brought syphilis to Europe -- or did he? A recent study now indicates that Europeans could already have been infected with this sexually transmitted disease before the 15th century. In ...

The Oldest Known Cremation in the Near East Dates to 7000 BC

Ancient people in the Near East had begun the practice of intentionally cremating their dead by the beginning of the 7th millennium BC, according to a new ...

Australian Indigenous Banana Cultivation Found to Go Back Over 2,000 Years

Archaeologists have found the earliest evidence of Indigenous communities cultivating bananas in Australia. The evidence of cultivation and plant management dates back 2,145 years and was found at ...

Exact Climate Data from the Past

Corals and cave carbonates can reveal the temperatures that prevailed at the Earth's surface at the time they formed. An international team of geoscientists has developed a new method that makes ...

DNA from an Ancient, Unidentified Ancestor Was Passed Down to Humans Living Today

A new analysis of ancient genomes suggests that different branches of the human family tree interbred multiple times, and that some humans carry DNA from an archaic, unknown ...

Monday, September 28, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020