advertisement
Dinosaurs 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...

Toothless Dino's Lost Digits Point to Spread of Parrot-Like Species

A newly discovered species of toothless, two-fingered dinosaur has shed light on how a group of parrot-like animals thrived more than 68 million years ...
A new study provides substantial evidence that the first fossil feather ever to be discovered does belong to the iconic bird-like dinosaur, Archaeopteryx. This debunks a ...
Experts have examined the evidence that prehistoric flying reptiles called pterosaurs had feathers and believe they were, in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:37pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Study Confirms the Power of Deinosuchus and Its 'Teeth the Size of Bananas'

A new study, revisiting fossil specimens from the enormous crocodylian, Deinosuchus, has confirmed that the beast had teeth 'the size of bananas,' capable to take down even the very largest ...

Malignant Cancer Diagnosed in a Dinosaur for the First Time

New research has led to the discovery and diagnosis of an aggressive malignant bone cancer -- an osteosarcoma -- for the first time ever in a dinosaur. No malignant cancers (tumous that can spread ...

Study Sheds Light on the Evolution of the Earliest Dinosaurs

Geological evidence suggests the known dinosaur groups diverged early on, supporting the traditional dinosaur family ...

Biosignatures May Reveal a Wealth of New Data Locked Inside Old Fossils

Step aside, skeletons -- a new world of biochemical ''signatures'' found in all kinds of ancient fossils is revealing itself to paleontologists, providing a new avenue for ...

Fossil Jawbone from Alaska Is a Rare Case of a Juvenile Arctic Dromaeosaurid Dinosaur

A small piece of fossil jawbone from Alaska represents a rare example of juvenile dromaeosaurid dinosaur remains from the Arctic, according to a new ...

Famous 'Jurassic Park' Dinosaur Is Less Lizard, More Bird

From movies to museum exhibits, the dinosaur Dilophosaurus is no stranger to pop culture. Many probably remember it best from the movie 'Jurassic Park,' where it's depicted as a ...

A Tiny Ancient Relative of Dinosaurs and Pterosaurs Discovered

Dinosaurs and pterosaurs may be known for their remarkable size, but a newly described species that lived around 237 million years ago suggests that they originated from extremely small ancestors. ...

Different Tracks, Same Dinosaurs: Researchers Dig Deeper Into Dinosaur Movements

Using X-ray-based technology, researchers uncover shared subsurface movement patterns between birds and dinosaurs, adding a new dimension of fossil track ...

Asteroid Impact, Not Volcanoes, Made the Earth Uninhabitable for Dinosaurs

Modelling of the Chicxulub asteroid impact 66 million years ago shows it created a world largely unsuitable for dinosaurs to live ...

Tiny Japanese Dinosaur Eggs Help Unscramble Cretaceous Ecosystem

A research team has excavated over 1300 eggshell fossils from the Lower Cretaceous Ohyamashimo Formation of Hyogo Prefecture, Japan. Over 96% of these fossils, including numerous fragments, four ...

First Dinosaur Eggs Were Soft Like a Turtle's

New research suggests that the first dinosaurs laid soft-shelled eggs -- a finding that contradicts established thought. The study analyzed the eggs of two vastly different non-avian dinosaurs and ...

Tracking Australia's Gigantic Carnivorous Dinosaurs

North America had the T. rex, South America had the Giganotosaurus and Africa the Spinosaurus - now evidence shows Australia had gigantic predatory ...

Ancient Crocodiles Walked on Two Legs Like Dinosaurs

An international research team has been stunned to discover that some species of ancient crocodiles walked on their two hind legs like dinosaurs and measured over three metres in length. University ...

Scientists Discover What an Armored Dinosaur Ate for Its Last Meal

More than 110 million years ago, a lumbering 1,300-kilogram, armor-plated dinosaur ate its last meal, died, and was washed out to sea in what is now northern Alberta. This ancient beast then sank ...

Chinese Pterodactyl Wings Its Way to the United Kingdom

The first ever specimen of a pterodactyl, more commonly found in China and Brazil, has been found in the United ...

In Stressed Ecosystems Jurassic Dinosaurs Turned to Scavenging, Maybe Even Cannibalism

Among dinosaurs of ancient Colorado, scavenging and possibly cannibalism were responses to a resource-scarce environment, according to a new ...

Finding a Genus Home for Alaska's Dinosaurs

A re-analysis of dinosaur skulls from northern Alaska suggests they belong to a genus Edmontosaurus, and not to the genus recently proposed by scientists in ...

Dinosaur-Dooming Asteroid Struck Earth at 'Deadliest Possible' Angle

New simulations have revealed the asteroid that doomed the dinosaurs struck Earth at the 'deadliest possible' ...

T. Rex Was a Champion Walker, Highly Efficient at Lower Speeds

A new study suggests that long legs evolved among the biggest dinosaurs to help them conserve energy as they ambled along searching for prey, rather than for speed as previously ...

Can We Really Tell Male and Female Dinosaurs Apart?

Scientists worldwide have long debated our ability to identify male and female dinosaurs. Now, research has shown that despite previous claims of success, it's very difficult to spot differences ...

Monday, August 10, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Friday, January 24, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, January 1, 2020
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Monday, September 30, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Thursday, September 5, 2019
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Friday, July 12, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Friday, May 31, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Monday, April 15, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Friday, March 29, 2019
Friday, March 22, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Monday, February 4, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Monday, January 21, 2019
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018