advertisement
Early Humans 211Ʊ
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Oldest Securely Dated Evidence for a River Flowing Through the Thar Desert, Western India

Using luminescence dating of ancient river sediments, a new study presents evidence for river activity at Nal Quarry in the central Thar Desert ...

Fossil Footprints Tell Story of Prehistoric Parent's Journey

Hungry giant predators, treacherous mud and a tired, probably cranky toddler -- more than 10,000 years ago, that was the stuff of every parent's nightmare. Evidence of that type of frightening trek ...

Climate Change Likely Drove Early Human Species to Extinction, Modeling Study Suggests

Of the six or more different species of early humans, all belonging to the genus Homo, only we Homo sapiens have managed to survive. Now, a study ...

Modern Humans Took Detours on Their Way to Europe

Favourable climatic conditions influenced the sequence of settlement movements of Homo sapiens in the Levant on their way from Africa to Europe. In a first step, modern humans settled along the coast ...
Latest Headlines
updated 8:37am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Cognitive Elements of Language Have Existed for 40 Million Years

Humans are not the only beings that can identify rules in complex language-like constructions -- monkeys and great apes can do so, too, a new study has shown. Researcher used a series of experiments ...

Computational Study of Famous Fossil Reveals Evolution of Locomotion in 'Ruling Reptiles'

Scientists used three-dimensional computer modelling to investigate the hindlimb of Euparkeria capensis -- a small reptile that lived in the Triassic Period 245 million years ago -- and inferred that ...

Archaeology Uncovers Infectious Disease Spread 4000 Years Ago

New bioarchaeology research has shown how infectious diseases may have spread 4000 years ago, while highlighting the dangers of letting such diseases run ...

Ancient Human Footprints in Saudi Arabia Give Glimpse of Arabian Ecology 120000 Years Ago

Using high resolution paleoecological information obtained from fossilized footprints, a new study presents ~120 thousand-year-old human and animal footprints from an ancient lake bed in northern ...

An Evolutionary Roll of the Dice Explains Why We're Not Perfect

Scientists have found that chance events can be more important than natural selection in defining the genome of species like humans and other ...

New Fossil Ape Discovered in India

A 13-million-year-old fossil unearthed in northern India comes from a newly discovered ape, the earliest known ancestor of the modern-day gibbon. The discovery fills a major void in the ape fossil ...

Ancient Bony Fish Forces Rethink of How Sharks Evolved

Sharks' non-bony skeletons were thought to be the template before bony internal skeletons evolved, but a new fossil discovery suggests ...

New Neural Network Differentiates Middle and Late Stone Age Toolkits

The change from Middle Stone Age (MSA) to Later Stone Age (LSA) marks a major cultural change amongst our hunter-gatherer ancestors, but distinguishing between these two industrial complexes is not ...

Termite-Fishing Chimpanzees Provide Clues to the Evolution of Technology

Unlike chimpanzees in East and West Africa, who use a single tool to extract termites, chimpanzees in Central Africa's Congo Basin use tool sets -- puncturing sticks or perforating twigs plus ...

Remains of 17th Century Bishop Support Neolithic Emergence of Tuberculosis

Researchers present analysis of the highest quality ancient Mycobacterium tuberculosis genome to date, suggesting the pathogen is much younger than previously ...

Ancient Genomes Suggest Woolly Rhinos Went Extinct Due to Climate Change, Not Overhunting

Although overhunting led to the demise of some prehistoric megafauna after the last ice age, a new study found that the extinction of the woolly rhinoceros may have been caused by climate change. By ...

Most Close Relatives of Birds Neared the Potential for Powered Flight but Few Crossed Its Thresholds

New research has resulted in an updated evolutionary tree of early birds and their closest relatives to reconstruct powered flight potential, showing it evolved at least three times. Many ancestors ...

DNA from an Ancient, Unidentified Ancestor Was Passed Down to Humans Living Today

A new analysis of ancient genomes suggests that different branches of the human family tree interbred multiple times, and that some humans carry DNA from an archaic, unknown ...

Dinosaur Relative's Genome Linked to Mammals: Curious Genome of Ancient Reptile

Biologists have sequenced the genome of the tuatara, a lizard-like creature that lives on the islands of New ...

Foxes Have Been Eating Humans' Leftovers for 42,000 Years

The diets of ancient foxes were influenced by humans, and these small carnivores might be tracers of human activity over ...

Earliest Humans Stayed at the Americas 'Oldest Hotel' in Mexican Cave

A cave in a remote part of Mexico was visited by humans around 30,000 years ago - 15,000 years earlier than people were previously thought to have reached the Americas. Excavations of Chiquihuite ...

Neanderthals of Western Mediterranean Did Not Become Extinct Because of Changes in Climate, Study Shows

According to paleoclimatic reconstructions analyzing stalagmites sampled in some caves in the Murge plateau (Apulia, Italy), Neanderthals might have become extinct because Homo sapiens employed more ...

Biologists Trace Plants' Steady Mitochondrial Genomes to a Gene Found in Viruses, Bacteria

Biologists have traced the stability of plant mitochondrial genomes to a particular gene - MSH1 - that plants have but animals don't. Their experiments could lend insight into why animal ...

Sled Dogs Are Closely Related to 9,500-Year-Old 'Ancient Dog'

Sled dogs are much older and have adapted to Arctic conditions much earlier than previously thought. Researchers show that ancestors of modern sled dogs have worked and lived with humans for over ...

Studying the Neanderthal DNA Found in Modern Humans Using Stem Cells and Organoids

Protocols that allow the transformation of human induced pluripotent stem cell (iPSC) lines into organoids have changed the way scientists can study developmental processes and enable them to ...

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Monday, November 11, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Friday, November 1, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019