advertisement
Early Mammals 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Antarctica Yields Oldest Fossils of Giant Birds With 21-Foot Wingspans

Some of the largest birds in history, called pelagornithids, arose a few million years after the mass extinction that killed off the dinosaurs and patrolled the oceans with giant wingspans for some ...

World's Greatest Mass Extinction Triggered Switch to Warm-Bloodedness

Mammals and birds today are warm-blooded, and this is often taken as the reason for their great ...

A Tiny Jaw from Greenland Sheds Light on the Origin of Complex Teeth

Scientists have described the earliest known example of dentary bone with two rows of cusps on molars and double-rooted teeth. The new findings offer insight into mammal tooth evolution, particularly ...

Ancient Tiny Teeth Reveal First Mammals Lived More Like Reptiles

Pioneering analysis of 200 million-year-old teeth belonging to the earliest mammals suggests they functioned like their cold-blooded counterparts - reptiles, leading less active but much longer ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:08pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Bizarre Saber-Tooth Predator from South America Was No Saber-Tooth Cat

A new study has shown that not all saber-tooths were fearsome ...

Extinct Camelids Reveal Insights 211Ʊ North America's Ancient Savannas

A new study looking at extinct camelids -- ancestors of today's camels and llamas -- tells the story of North America's ancient savannas and highlights how past climatic and environmental ...

On the Hunt for Megafauna in North America

Research has found that pre-historic climate change does not explain the extinction of megafauna in North America at the end of the last Ice ...

Ancient Reptile Had Mammal-Like Tooth Enamel

A new study by paleontologists shows that one type of ancient reptiles evolved a special type of tooth enamel, similar to that of mammals, with high resistance to wear and tear. The study is the ...

Marooned on Mesozoic Madagascar

In evolutionary terms, islands are the stuff of weirdness. It is on islands where animals evolve in isolation, often for millions of years, with different food sources, competitors, predators, and ...

Coquí Fossil from Puerto Rico Takes Title of Oldest Caribbean Frog

The bright chirp of the coquí frog, the national symbol of Puerto Rico, has likely resounded through Caribbean forests for at least 29 million years. A fossil arm bone from a frog in the genus ...

Tooth Be Told: Earless Seals Existed in Ancient Australia

A fossilised seal tooth, dating back approximately three million years, found on a Victorian beach proves earless seals existed in Australia in prehistoric times. Known as monachines, the seals ...

Water Pressure: Ancient Aquatic Crocs Evolved, Enlarged to Avoid Freezing

Ancient crocodilian ancestors that abandoned land for water nearly 200 million years ago supposedly got larger because they were released from the constraints of gravity, territory and diet. But a ...

Small Horses Got Smaller, Big Tapirs Got Bigger 47 Million Years Ago

The former coalfield of Geiseltal in Saxony-Anhalt has yielded large numbers of exceptionally preserved fossil animals, giving palaeontologists a unique window into the evolution of mammals 47 ...

Unprecedented Preservation of Fossil Feces from the La Brea Tar Pits

Scientists have found the first coprolites -- or fossil feces -- ever discovered in an asphaltic -- or tar pit -- ...

Late Cretaceous Dinosaur-Dominated Ecosystem

A topic of considerable interest to paleontologists is how dinosaur-dominated ecosystems were structured, how dinosaurs and co-occurring animals were distributed across the landscape, how they ...

One of Darwin's Evolution Theories Finally Proved

Scientists have proved one of Charles Darwin's theories of evolution for the first time -- nearly 140 years after his death. Researchers discovered mammal subspecies play a more important role ...

Mysterious Bone Circles Made from the Remains of Mammoths Reveal Clues 211Ʊ Ice Age

Mysterious bone circles made from the remains of dozens of mammoths have revealed clues about how ancient communities survived Europe's ice ...

Apes' Inner Ears Could Hide Clues to Evolutionary History of Hominoids

Studying the inner ear of apes and humans could uncover new information on our species' evolutionary relationships, suggests a new ...

Frozen Bird Turns out to Be 46,000-Year-Old Horned Lark

Scientists have recovered DNA from a well-preserved horned lark found in Siberian permafrost. The results can contribute to explaining the evolution of sub species, as well as how the mammoth steppe ...

Dog Domestication During Ice Age

Analysis of Paleolithic-era teeth from a 28,500-year-old fossil site in the Czech Republic provides supporting evidence for two groups of canids -- one dog-like and the other wolf-like - with ...

Reconstructing the Diet of Fossil Vertebrates

Paleodietary studies of the fossil record are impeded by a lack of reliable and unequivocal tracers. Scientists have now tested a new method, the isotope analysis of zinc isotopes from the tooth ...

How and When Spines Changed in Mammalian Evolution

Researchers compared modern and ancient animals to explore how mammalian vertebrae have evolved into sophisticated physical structures that can carry out multiple functions. The comparison between ...

The 'Firewalkers' of Karoo: Dinosaurs and Other Animals Left Tracks in a 'Land of Fire'

In southern Africa, dinosaurs and synapsids, a group of animals that includes mammals and their closest fossil relatives, survived in a 'land of fire' at the start of an Early Jurassic mass ...

A 'Pivotal' Moment for Understanding Whale Evolution

We could be getting closer to understanding how feeding behaviors in whales and dolphins have evolved over ...

Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 7, 2019
Thursday, September 26, 2019
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Friday, September 13, 2019
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Thursday, April 18, 2019
Monday, April 8, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Monday, March 18, 2019
Monday, March 11, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Friday, February 22, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Wednesday, February 13, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Friday, January 11, 2019
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Thursday, September 20, 2018
Monday, September 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 24, 2018
Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Friday, July 13, 2018
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Monday, June 25, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Friday, June 8, 2018
Thursday, June 7, 2018
Wednesday, May 30, 2018
Monday, May 28, 2018
Wednesday, May 23, 2018