advertisement
Origin of Life 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Large Tides May Have Driven Evolution of Fish Towards Life on Land

Big tidal ranges some 400 million years ago may have initiated the evolution of bony fish and land vertebrates. This theory is now supported by researchers who, for the first time, have used ...

Driver of the Largest Mass Extinction in the History of the Earth Identified

252 million years ago, at the transition from the Permian to the Triassic epoch, most of the life forms existing on Earth became extinct. Using ...

Prebiotic Chemistry: In the Beginning, There Was Sugar

Organic molecules formed the basis for the evolution of life. But how could inorganic precursors have given rise to them? Chemists now reports a reaction pathway in which minerals catalyze the ...

World's Greatest Mass Extinction Triggered Switch to Warm-Bloodedness

Mammals and birds today are warm-blooded, and this is often taken as the reason for their great ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The Rhythm of Change: What a Drum-Beat Experiment Reveals 211Ʊ Cultural Evolution

Living organisms aren't the only things that evolve over time. Cultural practices change, too, and in recent years social scientists have taken a keen interest in understanding this cultural ...

Genome of Alexander Fleming's Original Penicillin-Producing Mold Sequenced

Researchers have sequenced the genome of Alexander Fleming's penicillin mould for the first time and compared it to later ...

Y Chromosomes of Neanderthals and Denisovans Now Sequenced

An international research team led by Martin Petr and Janet Kelso of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig, Germany, has determined Y chromosome sequences of three ...

Placing Barthelonids on the Tree of Life

Researchers have categorized barthelonids, a group of microscopic anaerobic flagellates, as an early branching Metamonada lineage based on their genetic identity and mitochondrial evolutionary ...

Genome Duplications as Evolutionary Adaptation Strategy

Genome duplications play a major role in the development of forms and structures of plant organisms and their changes across long periods of evolution. Biologists made this discovery in their ...

Living in an Anoxic World: Microbes Using Arsenic Are a Link to Early Life

Much of life on planet Earth today relies on oxygen to exist, but before oxygen was present on our blue planet, lifeforms likely used arsenic ...

Bird Beak Revealed by Laser Imaging Informs Early Beak Function and Development

Confuciusornis was a crow-like fossil bird that lived in the Cretaceous ~120 million years ago. It was one of the first birds to evolve a beak. Early beak evolution remains understudied. Using an ...

Discovery of Microbes With Mixed Membranes Sheds New Light on Early Evolution of Life

Current research suggests that more complex life-forms, including humans, evolved from a symbiosis event between bacteria and another single-celled organism known as archaea. However, evidence of a ...

Scientists Identify Gene Family Key to Unlocking Vertebrate Evolution

New research finds that the traits that make vertebrates distinct from invertebrates were made possible by the emergence of a new set of genes 500 million years ago, documenting an important episode ...

World's Largest DNA Sequencing of Viking Skeletons Reveals They Weren't All Scandinavian

Invaders, pirates, warriors - the history books taught us that Vikings were brutal predators who travelled by sea from Scandinavia to pillage and raid their way across Europe and beyond. Now ...

Modern Theory from Ancient Impacts

It is generally accepted that the inner region of the early solar system was subject to an intense period of meteoric bombardment referred to as the late heavy bombardment. However, researchers have ...

To Recreate Ancient Recipes, Check out the Vestiges of Clay Pots

UC Berkeley archaeologists have discovered that unglazed ceramic cookware can retain the residue of not just the last supper cooked, but earlier meals as well, opening a window onto gastronomic ...

Thousands of Species Recorded in a Speck of Soil

Researchers have developed a new technique to tease ancient DNA from soil, pulling the genomes of hundreds of animals and thousands of plants -- many of them long extinct -- from less than a gram of ...

An Evolutionary Roll of the Dice Explains Why We're Not Perfect

Scientists have found that chance events can be more important than natural selection in defining the genome of species like humans and other ...

In Ancient Giant Viruses Lies the Truth Behind Evolution of Nucleus in Eukaryotic Cells

An exchange of genetic material that occurred when ancient giant viruses infected ancient eukaryotic cells could have caused the nucleus of the eukaryotic cell -- its defining feature -- to form. A ...

New research identifies a process that might have been key in producing the first organic molecules on Earth about 4 billion years ago, before the origin of life. The process, which is similar to ...

Lost Frogs Rediscovered With Environmental DNA

Scientists have detected signs of a frog listed extinct and not seen since 1968, using an innovative technique to locate declining and missing species in two regions of ...

New Insights Into Evolution of Gene Expression

The long-term expression of genes in vertebrate organs predisposes these genes to be subsequently utilized in other organs during ...

Ancient Bony Fish Forces Rethink of How Sharks Evolved

Sharks' non-bony skeletons were thought to be the template before bony internal skeletons evolved, but a new fossil discovery suggests ...

Study Reveals Lactose Tolerance Happened Quickly in Europe

A new study published in Current Biology reveals that the ability for humans to digest milk (lactase persistence) spread through Central Europe quickly in evolutionary ...

Tuesday, October 27, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020