advertisement
Alzheimer's Research 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Bacterial Metabolism of Dietary Soy May Lower Risk Factor for Dementia

A metabolite produced following consumption of dietary soy may decrease a key risk factor for dementia - with the help of the right bacteria, according to a new ...

New Anti-AB Vaccine Could Help Halt Alzheimer's Progression, Preclinical Study Finds

A preclinical study by neuroscientists indicates that an antigen-presenting dendritic vaccine with a specific antibody response to oligomeric A-beta ...

One-Two Punch of Symptoms That Exacerbate Alzheimer's

A new Alzheimer's study found that impaired blood flow in the brain is correlated with the buildup of tau tangles, a hallmark indicator of cognitive decline.The work suggests that treatments ...

Study Underscores the Gut-Brain Connection, Shows Hunger Hormone Impacts Memory

Rats that lacked the hormone ghrelin tended to eat more frequently and gained more weight. They also showed signs that they could not remember when ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Gut Hormone Blocks Brain Cell Formation and Is Linked to Parkinson's Dementia

A gut hormone, ghrelin, is a key regulator of new nerve cells in the adult brain, a research team has discovered. It could help pave the way for new drugs to treat dementia in patients with ...

Community Noise May Affect Dementia Risk

Results from a new study support emerging evidence suggesting that noise may influence individuals' risk of developing dementia later in ...

Phase 3 Clinical Trial to Treat Mild Alzheimer's Disease Using Deep Brain Stimulation

Medical researchers are enrolling individuals in an international phase 3 clinical trial to examine the safety and effectiveness of deep brain stimulation to treat Alzheimer's. The study uses ...

Does General Anesthesia Increase Dementia Risk?

There are concerns that exposure to general anesthesia during surgery may contribute to an increased risk of Alzheimer's disease. To investigate, researchers compared exposure to general ...

New Tool Shows Main Highways of Disease Development

A new tool enables researchers to explore disease patterns from 7.2 million patients spanning 25 years. The tool is freely available for the scientific community and requires no prerequisite ...

A Genetic Variant That Protects Against Alzheimer's Disease Promotes Immune Cell Functions

A new study has found that the PLCG2-P522R genetic variant, which protects against Alzheimer's disease, enhances several key functions of immune cells. The results obtained in the study ...

Fructose Made in the Brain Could Be a Mechanism Driving Alzheimer's Disease, Researchers Propose

New research proposes that Alzheimer's disease may be driven by the overactivation of fructose made in the brain. The study outlined the hypothesis that Alzheimer's is a modern disease ...

New Mouse Model of Tau Propagation

Accumulation of assembled tau protein in the central nervous system is characteristic of Alzheimer's disease and several other neurodegenerative diseases, called tauopathies. Researchers have ...

Sport and Memory Go Hand in Hand

If sport is good for the body, it also seems to be good for the brain. By evaluating memory performance following a sport session, neuroscientists demonstrate that an intensive physical exercise ...

Biomarker Indicating Neurodegeneration Identified in the Eye

A new study indicates a well-known biomarker that serves as a marker for earlier diagnosis of neurodegenerative diseases is now detectable in the eye. Neurofilament light chain, a protein previously ...

Higher Dementia Risk in Women With Prolonged Fertility

Women with a longer reproductive period had an elevated risk for dementia in old age, compared with those who were fertile for a shorter period, a population-based ...

New Smart Drug Delivery System May Help Treatment for Neurological Disorders

A research team has created a smart drug delivery system that reduces inflammation in damaged nervous tissues and may help treat spinal cord injuries and other neurological disorders. The system, ...

Risk Gene for Alzheimer's Has Early Effects on the Brain

A genetic predisposition to late-onset Alzheimer's disease affects how the brains of young adults cope with certain memory tasks. Researchers find are based on studies with magnetic resonance ...

Older People With Early, Asymptomatic Alzheimer's at Risk of Falls

Older people without cognitive problems who experience a fall may have undetected neurodegeneration in their brains that puts them at high risk of developing Alzheimer's dementia, according to a ...

Concussion Discovery Reveals Dire, Unknown Effect of Even Mild Brain Injuries

Even mild concussions cause severe and long-lasting impairments in the brain's ability to clean itself, and this may seed it for Alzheimer's, dementia and other neurodegenerative ...

Vitamin B1 Deficiency a Key Factor in the Development of Alcohol-Related Dementia

A research group has now developed a hypothesis whereby iron deposits in the brain -- resulting from alcohol-induced vitamin B1 deficiency -- can be regarded as key factors in cognitive ...

Lumpy Proteins Stiffen Blood Vessels of the Brain

Deposits of a protein called 'Medin', which manifest in virtually all older adults, reduce the elasticity of blood vessels during aging and hence may be a risk factor for vascular ...

Older Women With Type 2 Diabetes Have Different Patterns of Blood Use in Their Brains

A researcher is reporting that the brains of older women with Type 2 diabetes do not use as much oxygenated blood as those who don't have the disease. The research is the first to point to ...

Common Class of Drugs Linked to Increased Risk of Alzheimer's Disease

Researchers report that a class of drugs used for a broad array of conditions, from allergies and colds to hypertension and urinary incontinence, may be associated with an increased risk of cognitive ...

Depression Worsens Over Time for Older Caregivers of Newly Diagnosed Dementia Patients

Caring for a partner or spouse with a new diagnosis of Alzheimer's or related dementia is associated with a 30 percent increase in depressive symptoms, compared to older adults who don't ...

Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020