advertisement
Brain Tumor 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Experimental Glioblastoma Therapy Shows Curative Powers in Mice Models

Researchers used a second-generation pro-drug called MP-Pt(IV) to target the deadly cells of glioblastoma tumors and found mice harboring human glioblastoma tumors in their brains had greatly ...

Cancer Cells Use Nerve-Cell Tricks to Spread from One Organ to the Next

New research suggests that breast and lung tumors metastasize by hijacking a neural signaling pathway, potentially opening the door to better diagnostics and ...

Scientists Find Ally in Fight Against Brain Tumors: Ebola

Glioblastomas are relentless, hard-to-treat, and often lethal brain tumors. Scientists have enlisted a most unlikely ally in efforts to treat this form of cancer -- elements of the Ebola ...

Scientists Breach Brain Barriers to Attack Tumors

The brain is equipped with barriers designed to keep out dangerous pathogens. Researchers have now found a novel way to circumvent the brain's natural defenses when they're ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:57pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Tumor DNA in Spinal Fluid Could Help Doctors Better Monitor Childhood Brain Cancer

Researchers have demonstrated that a new liquid biopsy approach overcomes traditional barriers to quickly and efficiently diagnose and monitor high-grade pediatric ...

Cancer Cells Take Over Blood Vessels to Spread

In laboratory studies, researchers observed a key step in how cancer cells may spread from a primary tumor to a distant site within the body, a process known as ...

Making Brain Cancers in Children Respond Better to Treatment

Research has identified a small molecule compound that can activate the Wnt pathway in non-Wnt subtypes of medulloblastoma, making these aggressive forms of cancer more responsive to therapies. The ...

Mechanism Underlying Cancer Cells' Immune Evasion

Researchers have discovered how brain cancer cells increase production of a key protein that allows them to evade the body's immune system. The study suggests that targeting this cellular ...

Blocking Copper Uptake in Tumor Cells May Be Clue to Boosting Immune System

Researchers have discovered that removing copper from the blood can destroy some of the deadliest cancers that are resistant to immunotherapy using models of the ...

New Drug Targets for Lethal Brain Cancer Discovered

More than 200 genes with novel and known roles in glioblastoma - the most aggressive type of brain cancer - offer promising new drug targets. Researchers engineered a new mouse model to show for the ...

Brain Tumors May Be Seeded from Distant Site

A mouse model of glioblastoma, an aggressive type of cancer that can occur in the brain, suggests that this recalcitrant cancer originates from a pool of stem cells that can be a significant distance ...

Unexpected Associations Found Between Drug Response and Cell Changes in Brain Cancer

Therapies for treating glioblastoma brain cancer can be delivered with greater precision and existing drugs can be used in new ways. These are the conclusions from a stud investigating a large number ...

Immune Landscape of Multiple Brain Cancers Charted

A new study has profiled, in a sweeping comparative analysis, the distinct immune landscapes of tumors that arise in the brain, or gliomas, and those that metastasize to the organ from the lungs, ...

Schizophrenia Drug Combined With Radiation Shows Promise in Treating Deadly Brain Tumors

Researchers found adding a drug once commonly used to treat schizophrenia to traditional radiation therapy helped improve overall survival in mice with ...

New Targets for Childhood Brain Tumors Identified

People with the genetic condition neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1) are prone to developing tumors on nervous system tissue. A new study has found that the development and growth of such tumors are ...

A Promising New Treatment for Recurrent Pediatric Brain Cancer

Researchers developed a novel approach that delivers appropriately-targeted chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cell therapy directly into the cerebrospinal fluid that surrounds recurrent pediatric ...

Mouse Study Shows How Advancing Glioma Cells Scramble Brain Function, Blood Flow

The first sign of trouble for a patient with a growing brain tumor is often a seizure. Such seizures have long been considered a side effect of the tumor. But now a joint team of Columbia engineers ...

Optical Imaging Technology May Help Surgeons Better Treat Cancer, Brain Diseases

Researchers created technology that uses optical imaging to better help surgeons map out tumors in the body and help them understand how certain diseases affect activity in the ...

Scientists Reveal Brain Tumors Impact Normally Helpful Cells

Unprovoked recurrent seizures are a serious problem affecting most patients who suffer from glioma, a primary brain tumor composed of malignant glial cells. Researchers tested the hypothesis that ...

Targeting a Transporter to Treat SHH Medulloblastoma

Scientists have identified a novel target for a type of pediatric brain ...

Despite Failures, Chemo Still Promising Against Dangerous Childhood Brain Cancer, DIPG

The pediatric brain cancer known as diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma (DIPG) is almost uniformly fatal. In part, this is due to where and how it grows, forming as a diffuse net of cells in a part of ...

From Scorpion to Immunotherapy: Repurposing Nature's Toxin for CAR T

Scientists have developed and tested the first chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cell therapy using chlorotoxin (CLTX), a component of scorpion venom, to direct T cells to target brain tumor cells, ...

Imaging Can Guide Whether Liquid Biopsy Will Benefit Individual Glioblastoma Patients

New research shows brain imaging may be able to predict when a blood test known as a liquid biopsy would or would not produce clinically actionable information, allowing doctors to more efficiently ...

Targeting Stromal Cells May Help Overcome Treatment Resistance in Glioblastoma

The deadly brain cancer glioblastoma (GBM) is often resistant to chemotherapy and radiation, but new research shows targeting stromal cells -- the cells that serve as the connective tissue of the ...

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 17, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, December 26, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Friday, October 4, 2019
Friday, September 27, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Thursday, August 29, 2019
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Thursday, July 25, 2019
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
Monday, July 8, 2019
Monday, June 24, 2019
Monday, June 10, 2019
Thursday, May 30, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Friday, May 24, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Friday, May 10, 2019
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Tuesday, April 16, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Wednesday, March 27, 2019
Thursday, March 21, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Thursday, January 31, 2019
Wednesday, January 30, 2019
Friday, January 25, 2019
Wednesday, January 23, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Monday, December 10, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 23, 2018
Monday, November 19, 2018
Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Monday, November 12, 2018
Friday, November 9, 2018