advertisement
Infectious Diseases 211Ʊ
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Imaging Method Reveals HIV's Sugary Shield in Unprecedented Detail

Scientists have devised a method for mapping in unprecedented detail the thickets of slippery sugar molecules that help shield HIV from the immune system. Mapping these shields will give researchers ...

Lab-Grown Mini-Lungs Mimic the Real Thing -- Right Down to Coronavirus Infection

Researchers have developed a lab-grown living lung model that mimics the tiny air sacs of the lungs where coronavirus infection and serious lung ...

Neuropilin-1 Drives SARS-CoV-2 Infectivity, Finds Breakthrough Study

Researchers have potentially identified what makes SARS-CoV-2 highly infectious and able to spread rapidly in human cells. The findings describe how the virus's ability to infect human cells can be ...

Scientists Find Medieval Plague Outbreaks Picked Up Speed Over 300 Years

Researchers who analyzed thousands of documents covering a 300-year span of plague outbreaks in London, England, have estimated that the disease spread four times faster in the 17th century than it ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:57am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Estimating Risk of Airborne COVID-19 With Mask Usage, Social Distancing

The Contagion Airborne Transmission inequality model illustrates correlation between physical distancing and protection, the efficacy of face masks and the impact of physical activity on ...

A Promising Discovery Could Lead to Better Treatment for Hepatitis C

Virologists have identified a critical role played by a cellular protein in the progression of Hepatitis C virus infection, paving the way for more effective treatment. No vaccine currently exists ...

COVID-19 Infection May Be Part of a 'Perfect Storm' for Parkinson's Disease

Can COVID-19 infection increase the risk of developing Parkinson's disease? That's the question posed by a new commentary that explores three known case studies of people developing ...

Antiretroviral Therapy Can't Completely Stop Accelerated Cell Aging Seen in HIV

Untreated HIV infection is linked with epigenetic changes that suggest rapid aging. A new study shows that antiretroviral therapy given over two years was unable to completely restore age-appropriate ...

Multiple Sclerosis as the Flip Side of Immune Fitness

211Ʊ half of the people with multiple sclerosis have the HLA-DR15 gene variant. A study has now shown how this genetic predisposition contributes to the development of the autoimmune disease ...

Evidence Review Confirms CDC Guidance 211Ʊ Infectivity of Novel Coronavirus

A new review of dozens of studies suggests that people may shed virus for prolonged periods, but those with mild or no symptoms may be infectious for no more than about 10 days. People who are ...

New Lab Test Clarifies the Potential Protective Effects of COVID-19 Antibodies

Knowing you have developed antibodies against the SARS-CoV-2 virus after recovering from COVID-19 doesn't tell you everything about your immunity. Scientists have developed a new lab testing ...

New Research Comparing HIV Medications Set to Change International Recommendations

A new study is set to change international treatment recommendations for people who are newly diagnosed with HIV -- an update that could affect nearly two million people per year ...

Will the COVID-19 Virus Become Endemic?

A new article explores the potential for the COVID-19 virus to become endemic, a regular feature producing recurring outbreaks in ...

Novel Antiviral Strategy for Treatment of COVID-19

Researchers have discovered a novel antiviral strategy for treatment of COVID-19 using existing ...

Young Adults Face Higher Risk of Severe Disease from Infections Than School-Age Children

The first systematic review of how the severity of infectious diseases changes with age suggests that the human immune system might start to lose the ability to protect against infections earlier ...

New Study Suggests Crucial Role for Lymphocytes in Asymptomatic COVID-19 Infection

A retrospective study of 52 COVID-19 patients may help researchers better understand why not everyone show symptoms of the disease. The study's authors found that asymptomatic patients hosted ...

COVID-19 Rapid Test Has Successful Lab Results, Research Moves to Next Stages

Rapid detection of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, in about 30 seconds following the test, has had successful preliminary results. The test uses a nanotube-based electrochemical biosensor, a similar technology ...

Aerosols Vs. Droplets

A new study investigates the secret of the SARS-CoV-2 virus's unusual success: its transmissibility, or how it manages to get from host to host. The dominant mode, it turns out, changes ...

Army Researchers Collaborate on Universal Antibody Test for COVID-19

Researchers have tested alternative ways to measure COVID-19 antibody levels, resulting in a process that is faster, easier and less expensive to use on a large scale. Their method holds promise for ...

First Reported UK Case of Sudden Permanent Hearing Loss Linked to COVID-19

Although uncommon, sudden permanent hearing loss seems to be linked to COVID-19 infection in some people, warn doctors, reporting the first UK ...

Computer Model Uses Virus 'Appearance' to Better Predict Winter Flu Strains

Combining genetic and experimental data into models about the influenza virus can help predict more accurately which strains will be most common during the next winter, says a study published ...

Stopping Lethal Lung Damage from the Flu With a Natural Human Protein

The raging lung inflammation that can contribute to death from the flu can be stopped in its tracks by a drug derived from a naturally occurring human protein, a new animal study ...

Scientists Engineer Bacteria-Killing Molecules from Wasp Venom

Scientists have engineered powerful new antimicrobial molecules from toxic proteins found in wasp venom. The team hopes to develop the molecules into new bacteria-killing drugs, an important ...

New Research on SARS-CoV-2 Virus 'Survivability'

COVID-19 causing virus lasts for 10 days longer than Influenza on some surfaces Lower temps, glass, stainless steel and paper banknotes give virus longer ...

Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Monday, October 19, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Saturday, October 3, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020