advertisement
Nervous System 211Ʊ
October 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Ingestible Capsule That Could Help Demystify the Gut-Brain Axis

A team of experts from engineering, neuroscience, applied microbiology, and physics has been making headway on building a platform that can monitor and model the real-time processing of gut ...

Nerves That Sense Touch May Play Role in Autism

Autism is considered a disorder of the brain. But a new study suggests that the peripheral nervous system, the nerves that control our sense of touch, pain and other sensations, may play a role as ...

Scientists Identify Sensor Protein That Underlies Bladder Control

Scientists have found that the main sensor protein enabling our sense of touch also underlies the feeling of having a full bladder and makes normal bladder function possible. The discovery marks a ...

Novel Discoveries in Preventing Epileptic Seizures

Researchers have found that an amino acid produced by the brain could play a crucial role in preventing a type of epileptic ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Ancient Origins of Speed Control During Movement

Movement in animals is complex. Little has been known about how spinal inhibitory interneurons work to silence other neurons and related muscle groups in coordination with the active muscle groups ...

Gut Hormone Blocks Brain Cell Formation and Is Linked to Parkinson's Dementia

A gut hormone, ghrelin, is a key regulator of new nerve cells in the adult brain, a research team has discovered. It could help pave the way for new drugs to treat dementia in patients with ...

Trigger That Leads to Faster Nerve Healing

Damaged nerves regenerate faster when protein clusters are broken apart, releasing mRNAs that can be used to rebuild the nerve. Scientists have found the trigger that could be used to accelerate ...

New Mechanism Affecting Nerve Impulses Discovered

Researchers have discovered a new mechanism by which substances can open a certain type of ion channel and in this way regulate nerve impulses. The study identifies a large group of substances that ...

Taking the STING out of MND

Researchers are working towards a potential treatment to slow the progression of motor neuron disease (MND). The research team have uncovered how inflammation in MND is triggered. Pinpointing the ...

Study Finds Odor-Sensing Neuron Regeneration Process Is Adaptive

Results show that diminished odor stimulation reduces the number of newly-generated neurons that express particular odorant receptors, indicating a selective alteration in the neurogenesis of these ...

Tone of Voice Matters in Neuronal Communication

Neuronal communication is so fast, and at such a small scale, that it is exceedingly difficult to explain precisely how it occurs. An observation enabled by a custom imaging system, has led to a ...

Identical Signs of Brain Damage in Sleep Apnea and Alzheimer's

New research shows damage in the brain starts in the same place and spreads in the same way in sleep apnea, as in Alzheimer's disease. The study is the first to find Alzheimer's-like ...

Stem Cells Can Repair Parkinson's-Damaged Circuits in Mouse Brains

Researchers demonstrated a proof-of-concept stem cell treatment in a mouse model of Parkinson's disease. They found that neurons derived from stem cells can integrate well into the correct ...

160 Genes Linked to Brain Shrinkage in Study of 45,000 Adults

An analysis conducted in 45,000 adults mainly of European ancestry associated 160 genes with brain shrinkage seen on ...

Nerve Cells Let Others 'Listen In'

How many 'listeners' a nerve cell has in the brain is strictly regulated. In the environment of learning neurons, certain processes are set in motion that make signal transmission less ...

Decreased Protein Degradation in Cerebellum Leads to Motor Dysfunction

Researchers have developed an animal model that reproduces motor dysfunction and cerebellar neurodegeneration similar to that in spinocerebellar ataxia (SCA) by inhibiting chaperone-mediated ...

Fructose Made in the Brain Could Be a Mechanism Driving Alzheimer's Disease, Researchers Propose

New research proposes that Alzheimer's disease may be driven by the overactivation of fructose made in the brain. The study outlined the hypothesis that Alzheimer's is a modern disease ...

Faulty Transportation of Messenger RNA Is the Culprit in ALS

Researchers have discovered a function for the protein missing in many types of ALS and FTLD, two neurodegenerative diseases. In neurons, the protein TDP-43 bound to messenger RNA that codes for ...

Sport and Memory Go Hand in Hand

If sport is good for the body, it also seems to be good for the brain. By evaluating memory performance following a sport session, neuroscientists demonstrate that an intensive physical exercise ...

How a Single Protein in Non-Neuronal Cells Controls Brain Development

Researchers identify the protein PRMT1 as a key regulator of glial cell function during postnatal brain ...

Nose's Response to Odors More Than Just a Simple Sum of Parts

Based on highly sensitive recordings of neuron activity in the noses of mice, researchers have found that olfactory sensory neurons can exhibit suppression or enhancement of response when odors are ...

Uncovering the Clock That Sets the Speed of Embryo Development

Why do pregnancies last longer in some species than others? Researchers have found the clock that sets the speed of embryonic development and discovered the mechanism is based on how proteins are ...

Potential Target Identified for Migraine Therapy

Researchers have identified the protein GLT-1 as the neurotransmitter glutamate transporter in the brain that is related to cortical spreading depression, a pathological condition that underlies ...

Live Imaging Method Brings Structural Information to Mapping of Brain Function

Neuroscientists distinguish brain regions based on what they do, but now have a new way to overlay information about how they are built, ...

Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020