advertisement
Stem Cells 211Ʊ
October 21, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Survey Finds American Support for Human-Animal Chimera Research

In September 2015, the US National Institutes of Health placed a funding moratorium on research that involves introducing human pluripotent stem cells into animal embryos. To assess attitudes on ...

Breakthrough for Tomorrow's Dentistry

New knowledge on the cellular makeup and growth of teeth can expedite developments in regenerative dentistry - a biological therapy for damaged teeth - as well as the treatment of tooth ...

Placenta Is Initiated First, as Cells of a Fertilized Egg Divide and Specialize

The first stages of placental development take place days before the embryo starts to form in human pregnancies. The finding highlights the ...

Uncovering the Clock That Sets the Speed of Embryo Development

Why do pregnancies last longer in some species than others? Researchers have found the clock that sets the speed of embryonic development and discovered the mechanism is based on how proteins are ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:59pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Skeletal Muscle Development and Regeneration Mechanisms Vary by Gender

Researchers have generated mice lacking the estrogen receptor beta gene, both fiber-specific and muscle stem cell-specific, which resulted in abnormalities in the growth and regeneration of skeletal ...

Stem Cell Sheets Harvested in Just Two Days

A team has developed a thermoresponsive nanotopography cell culture ...

Fine-Tuning Stem Cell Metabolism Prevents Hair Loss

An international research team has shown in mice that Rictor, a protein that helps to regulate the growth, energy, and oxygen consumption of cells, plays a key role in the cellular metabolism and ...

Stem Cells Can Repair Parkinson's-Damaged Circuits in Mouse Brains

Researchers demonstrated a proof-of-concept stem cell treatment in a mouse model of Parkinson's disease. They found that neurons derived from stem cells can integrate well into the correct ...

Hormone That Might Help Treat Malabsorption Identified

Scientists at Cincinnati Children's used human intestinal organoids grown from stem cells to discover how our bodies control the absorption of nutrients from the food we eat. They further found ...

New Way to Halt Leukemia Relapse Shown Promising in Mice

Drugs tackling chronic myelogenous leukemia have completely transformed prognoses of patients over the last couple of decades, with most cases going into remission. But drug resistance can occur, ...

A New Discovery in Regenerative Medicine

Researchers have made an unexpected world-first stem cell discovery that may lead to new treatments for placenta complications during ...

Next-Gen Organoids Grow and Function Like Real Tissues

Bioengineers have created miniature intestines in a dish that match up anatomically and functionally to the real thing better than any other lab-grown tissue models. The biological complexity and ...

Generation of Three-Dimensional Heart Organoids

Researchers engineered three-dimensional functional heart organoids resembling the developing heart. By exposing mouse embryonic stem cells to two key proteins during heart development, the ...

Gene That Drives Ovarian Cancer Identified

Scientists have pinpointed which specific genes drive - or delay - high-grade serious ovarian ...

New Insight Into Mammalian Stem Cell Evolution

The genes regulating pluripotent stem cells in mammals are surprisingly similar across 48 species, researchers report. The study also shows that differences among these 'gene regulating ...

Mini-Organs Could Offer Treatment Hope for Children With Intestinal Failure

Scientists have grown human intestinal grafts using stem cells from patient tissue that could one day lead to personalized transplants for children with intestinal ...

Coaxing Single Stem Cells Into Specialized Cells

Researchers have developed a unique method for precisely controlling the deposition of hydrogel, which is made of water-soluble polymers commonly used to support cells in experiments or for ...

Breakthrough in Using Stem Cells to Treat Enteric Nervous System Disorders

Scientists have made a breakthrough in understanding how the enteric nervous system forms, which could pave the way for new treatments for neurodegenerative diseases such as ...

Researchers Pinpoint Hierarchy of Breast Cancer Cells as Potential Cause for Treatment Resistance

Researchers say it can take cells in different forms or 'life stages' to cause cancer to grow and ...

A New Molecular Guardian of Intestinal Stem Cells

Researchers investigated how intestinal stem cells are controlled at the molecular level to remain stem cells or to develop into one of various intestinal cells. By studying mice lacking the protein ...

Becoming a Nerve Cell: Timing Is of the Essence

Researchers find that mitochondria regulate a key event during brain development: how neural stem cells become nerve cells. Mitochondria influence this cell fate switch during a precise period that ...

Implanted Neural Stem Cell Grafts Show Functionality in Spinal Cord Injuries

Researchers report successfully implanting specialized grafts of neural stem cells directly into spinal cord injuries in mice, then documenting how the grafts grew and filled the injury sites, ...

Move Over Akita: Introducing 'Kuma Mutant' Mice for Islet Transplantation Research

Scientists have used a gene editing technique to establish a novel mouse model of permanent neonatal diabetes -- the immune-deficient Kuma mutant mice with a specific deletion in the Insulin2 (Ins2) ...

Researchers Discover Stem Cells in Optic Nerve That Preserve Vision

Researchers have for the first time identified stem cells in the region of the optic nerve, which transmits signals from the eye to the brain. The finding presents a new theory on why the most common ...

Monday, October 12, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020