advertisement
Stroke Prevention 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Certain Pre-Existing Conditions May Double, Triple Mortality Risk for COVID-19

A large, international study of COVID-19 patients confirmed that cardiovascular disease, hypertension, diabetes, congestive heart failure, chronic ...

World First Study Links Obesity With Reduced Brain Plasticity

A world-first study has found that severely overweight people are less likely to be able to re-wire their brains and find new neural pathways, a discovery that has significant implications for people ...

Mosquito-Borne Viruses Linked to Stroke

A deadly combination of two mosquito-borne viruses may be a trigger for stroke, new research has ...

Quality Over Quantity in Recovering Language After Stroke

New research has found that intensive therapy is not necessarily best when it comes to treating the loss of language and communication in early recovery after a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:58pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Risk of Heart Complications After Major Surgery Is Higher Than Previously Thought

One in five high-risk patients undergoing major non-cardiac surgery will develop one or more heart complications within a year, according to new ...

Influenza Vaccination May Provide Roadmap to Prevent COVID-19 in CV Disease Patients

Seasonal influenza vaccine development and mass production, as well as three international influenza vaccine cardiovascular outcomes trials currently underway, may inform future efforts targeted at ...

Study Provides Additional Support for Use of New Class of Diabetes Drugs

A new study has assessed the cardiovascular and renal outcomes for ertugliflozin, an SGLT2 inhibitor prescribed for patients with type 2 diabetes to help them control blood sugar ...

Smoking Linked to Bleeding in the Brain in Large, Long-Term Study of Twins

Researchers in Finland found a link between smoking and subarachnoid hemorrhage (SAH), a type of bleeding stroke, in a study of more than 16,000 pairs of twins over 42 years. The study found that ...

Authoritative New Analysis Links Increased Omega-3 Intake to Cardioprotection and Improved Cardiovascular Outcomes

A new study provides the most comprehensive analysis of the role of omega-3 dosage on cardiovascular prevention to date. The meta-analysis, which is an in-depth review of 40 clinical trials, provides ...

Mindfulness With Paced Breathing and Lowering Blood Pressure

Now more than ever, Americans and people all over the world are under increased stress, which may adversely affect their health and well-being. Researchers explore the possibility that mindfulness ...

Uncovering the Genetics Behind Heart Attacks That Surprise Young, Healthy Women

New genetic research finds spontaneous coronary artery dissection, or SCAD, heart attacks may be more similar to different diseases than to other heart ...

Red Hot Meat: The Wrong Recipe for Heart Disease

From MasterChef to MKR, the world's best chefs have taught us how to barbeque, grill and panfry a steak to perfection. But while the experts may be seeking that extra flavor, new research ...

Study Examines the Benefits of Virtual Stroke Rehabilitation Programs

While virtual medical and rehabilitation appointments seemed novel when COVID-19 first appeared, they now seem to be part of the new norm and might be paving the way to the future. A recent review ...

Heart Disease Signs Improve When Using Arthritis Medication

Drugs used to treat initial signs of rheumatoid arthritis also improve the early stages of heart disease, according to new ...

Blood Pressure-Lowering Is Even More Beneficial Than Previously Thought

Blood pressure medication can prevent heart attacks and strokes - even in people with normal blood ...

Early Rhythm Control Therapy Improves Outcomes in Patients With Atrial Fibrillation

Patients with newly diagnosed atrial fibrillation benefit from early rhythm control therapy, according to new ...

For People With High Blood Pressure, Telemonitoring May Cut Heart Attack, Stroke Rate by 50%

Adults with uncontrolled high blood pressure were about half as likely to have serious cardiovascular events in the five years after a pharmacist-led telemonitoring program compared to those ...

Reprogramming Cardiac Fibroblast Cells to Transform Into Beating Heart Muscle

Researchers have clarified the roles of matrix stiffness and mechanotransduction as well as the signaling pathways in the transformation of cardiac fibroblasts into contractile cardiomyocytes and ...

How to Treat the Most Common Heart Attacks

One in five patients die within a year after the most common type of heart ...

Cholesterol Drug Combinations Could Cut Health Risk

More patients could benefit from combinations of cholesterol-lowering drugs to reduce their risk of stroke and heart ...

Age No Criteria for Decisions on Heart Attack Treatment, New Research Finds

Elderly patients suffering the most common type of heart attack may benefit from more invasive treatment, new research has ...

U.S. Hospital Admissions for Stroke Fell by Almost a Third During Lockdown

Almost a third fewer cases of stroke and mini-stroke (TIA) were seen in U.S. hospitals during the height of the COVID-19 pandemic between March and April this year compared to the same time in 2019, ...

50 Percent Drop in Patients Attending Cardiology Services During Coronavirus Lockdown

The number of NHS patients presenting to cardiology services for serious heart problems more than halved while the number of heart attacks diagnosed fell by 40 percent at one center in Scotland ...

What Is Cerebral Venous Thrombosis? Study Finds Blood Clot Condition on the Rise

Cerebral venous thrombosis (CVT) occurs when a blood clot forms in one of the veins in the brain, preventing blood from draining out of the brain. A new analysis has found that the incidence of CVT ...

Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Sunday, July 26, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020