advertisement
Chemistry 211Ʊ
October 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Upcycling Polyethylene Plastic Waste Into Valuable Molecules

Researchers develop a one-pot, low temperature catalytic method to turn polyethylene polymers into alkylaromatic ...

Cicada-Inspired Waterproof Surfaces Closer to Reality

A multidisciplinary group that studies the physical and chemical properties of insect wings has demonstrated the ability to reproduce the nanostructures that help cicada wings repel water and prevent ...

The New Heavy Isotope Mendelevium-244 and a Puzzling Short-Lived Fission Activity

A team of scientists has provided new insights into the fission processes in exotic nuclei and for this, has produced the hitherto unknown nucleus ...

High Levels of Microplastics Released from Infant Feeding Bottles During Formula Prep

New research shows that high levels of microplastics (MPs) are released from infant-feeding bottles (IFBs) during formula preparation. The research ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Molecular Design Strategy Reveals Near Infrared-Absorbing Hydrocarbon

The lessons learned from a near infrared absorbing, bowl-shaped molecule made only from hydrogen and carbon atoms offers insights for future organic ...

Enzymatic DNA Synthesis Sees the Light

Researchers have applied photolithographic techniques from the computer chip industry to enzymatic DNA synthesis, and thus developed a new method to multiplex the superior DNA writing ability of ...

Long-Term Data Show a Recent Acceleration in Chemical and Physical Changes in the Ocean

New research uses data from two sustained open-ocean hydrographic stations in the North Atlantic Ocean near Bermuda to demonstrate recent changes in ocean physics and chemistry since the 1980s. The ...

Artificial Cyanobacterial Biofilm Can Sustain Green Ethylene Production for Over a Month

Ethylene is one of the most important and widely used organic chemicals. A research group has designed a thin-layer artificial biofilm with embedded cyanobacterial cell factories which were ...

Does Science Have a Plastic Problem? Microbiologists Take Steps to Reducing Plastic Waste

A research group developed an approach to reduce plastic waste produced by their lab. They have shared their approach with the hope that other labs will follow ...

Researchers Synthesize Room Temperature Superconducting Material

Compressing simple molecular solids with hydrogen at extremely high pressures, scientists have, for the first time, created material that is superconducting at room temperature. They combined ...

An Innovative Method to Tune Lasers Toward Infrared Wavelengths

Researchers have discovered a cost-effective way to tune the spectrum of a laser to the infrared, a band of great interest for many laser ...

Machine Learning Model Helps Characterize Compounds for Drug Discovery

Innovators have created a new method of applying machine learning concepts to the tandem mass spectrometry process to improve the flow of information in the development of new ...

Technique to Recover Lost Single-Cell RNA-Sequencing Information

Researchers have greatly boosted the amount of information that can be obtained using Seq-Well, a technique for rapidly sequencing RNA from single cells. This advance should enable scientists to ...

Perovskite Materials: Neutrons Show Twinning in Halide Perovskites

Solar cells based on hybrid halide perovskites achieve high efficiencies. These mixed organic-inorganic semiconductors are usually produced as thin films of microcrystals. An investigation with the ...

Making Disorder for an Ideal Battery

The lithium batteries that power our electronic devices and electric vehicles have a number of drawbacks. The electrolyte is a flammable liquid and the lithium they're made of is a limited ...

Chemists Create New Crystal Form of Insecticide, Boosting Its Ability to Fight Mosquitoes and Malaria

Through a simple process of heating and cooling, researchers have created a new crystal form of deltamethrin -- a common insecticide used to control malaria -- resulting in an insecticide that is up ...

Using Electric Current to Stabilize Low-Permeability Soils

Scientists have developed a new approach to stabilizing clay soils. The method involves using a battery-like system to apply electric current to carbonate and calcium ions in order to promote soil ...

New Virtual Reality Software Allows Scientists to 'Walk' Inside Cells

Virtual reality software which allows researchers to 'walk' inside and analyze individual cells could be used to understand fundamental problems in biology and develop new treatments for ...

What Tiny Surfing Robots Teach Us 211Ʊ Surface Tension

Propelled by chemical changes in surface tension, microrobots surfing across fluid interfaces lead researchers to new ...

Palladium Catalysts Can Do It

Palladium catalysts help synthesize key chemicals for many industries. However, direct reaction of two basic reagents, aryl halides and alkyllithium compounds, remains a challenge. Now, a team of ...

One Electrode Fits All Functional Groups

Researchers employed the gold electrode and attached the target molecules onto the electrode. Just like functional groups generate diverse electronic effects, one electrode fits all reactions as the ...

Deep-Seabed Mining Lastingly Disrupts the Seafloor Food Web

Deep-seabed mining is considered a way to address the increasing need of rare metals. However, the environmental impacts are considered to be substantial but remain largely unknown and clear ...

Engineering Team Develops Novel Miniaturized Organic Semiconductor

An engineering team has made an important breakthrough in developing the staggered structure monolayer Organic Field Effect Transistors, which sets a major cornerstone to reduce the size of ...

Printing Organic Transistors

Researchers successfully print and demonstrate organic transistors, electronic switches, which can operate close to their theoretical speed limits. They showed high-speed operation only requires low ...

Saturday, October 17, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020