advertisement
Civil Engineering 211Ʊ
October 22, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Simple Software Creates Complex Wooden Joints

Wood is considered an attractive construction material for both aesthetic and environmental purposes. Construction of useful wood objects requires complicated structures and ways to connect ...

This Beetle Can Survive Getting Run Over by a Car. Engineers Are Figuring out How

Getting run over by a car is not a near-death experience for the diabolical ironclad beetle. How the beetle survives could inspire the development of ...

Framework for Gauging Health Impacts of Self-Driving Vehicles

Autonomous vehicles (AV) are the wave of the future in the automobile industry, and there's extensive discussion about the impacts on transportation, society, the economy and the environment. ...

Mirror-Like Photovoltaics Get More Electricity out of Heat

New heat-harnessing 'solar' cells that reflect 99% of the energy they can't convert to electricity could help bring down the price of storing renewable energy as heat, as well as harvesting waste ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:03am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Innovation Spins Spider Web Architecture Into 3D Imaging Technology

Innovators are taking cues from nature to develop 3D photodetectors for biomedical imaging. The researchers used some architectural features from spider webs to develop the ...

Cuttlebone's Microstructure Sits at a 'Sweet Spot'

A professor has a lesson in one of his mechanical engineering courses on how brittle materials like calcium carbonate behave under stress. In it, he takes a piece of chalk composed of the compound ...

Sound Waves Replace Human Hands in Petri Dish Experiments

Mechanical engineers have demonstrated a set of prototypes for manipulating particles and cells in a Petri dish using sound waves. The devices, known in the scientific community as 'acoustic ...

Researchers 3D Print Lifelike Heart Valve Models

Researchers have developed a groundbreaking process for multi-material 3D printing of lifelike models of the heart's aortic valve and the surrounding structures that mimic the exact look and ...

Plant Scientists Study the Interaction of Heat Stress Responses in Corn

A new study shows how two responses in separate locations inside plant cells work in concert to help corn plants respond to heat stress. The research was made possible by the Enviratron, an ...

New Approach to Soft Material Flow May Yield Way to New Materials, Disaster Prediction

How does toothpaste stay in its tube and not ooze out when we remove the cap? What causes seemingly solid ground to suddenly break free into a landslide? Defining exactly how soft materials flow and ...

Contagion Model Predicts Flooding in Urban Areas

Inspired by the same modeling and mathematical laws used to predict the spread of pandemics, researchers have created a model to accurately forecast the spread and recession process of floodwaters in ...

3D Printing 'Greener' Buildings Using Local Soil

Scientists report progress toward a sustainable building material made from local soil, using a 3D ...

Contextual Engineering Adds Deeper Perspective to Local Projects

Contextual engineering is a novel approach combining technological expertise with deep understanding of cultural and societal ...

How Soot-Free 'Blue Whirls' in Flames Are Structured

'Blue whirls' -- small, spinning blue flames that produce almost no soot when they burn -- have attracted great interest since their discovery in 2016, in part because they represent a ...

Sustainable Chemistry at the Quantum Level

Scientists are now using new quantum chemistry computing procedures to categorize hypothetical electrocatalysts that are 'too slow' or 'too expensive', far more thoroughly and ...

Incorporating Solar Harvesting Into the Side of Buildings Could Enhance Energy Sustainability

If builders could incorporate solar harvesting into the siding of a building, the amount of energy from the grid that a structure would need may significantly decrease. Researchers have demonstrated ...

Molecular Forces: The Surprising Stretching Behavior of DNA

Experiments with DNA molecules show that their mechanical properties are completely different from what those of macroscopic objects - and this has important consequences for biology and medicine. ...

Hydrogel Paves Way for Biomedical Breakthrough

Dubbed the 'invisibility cloak', engineers have developed a hydrogel that allows implants and transplants to better and more safely interact with surrounding ...

Origami Microbots: Centuries-Old Artform Guides Cutting-Edge Advances in Tiny Machines

Origami principles can unlock the potential of the smallest robots, enhancing speed, agility and control in machines no more than a centimeter in ...

How to Mix Old Tires and Building Rubble to Make Sustainable Roads

A recycled blend brings together construction and tire waste, to deliver both environmental and engineering benefits. The material offers a zero-waste solution to a massive environmental challenge - ...

Solving Materials Problems With a Quantum Computer

Scientists have developed a method paving the way to using quantum computers to simulate realistic molecules and complex materials. They tested the method on a quantum simulator and IBM quantum ...

Origami Metamaterials Show Reversible Auxeticity Combined With Deformation Recoverability

New research expands the understanding of origami structures, opening possibilities for mechanical metamaterials to be used in soft robotics and medical ...

Study Identifies Top Reasons for Sewer Line Failure

Concrete sewer pipes around the world are most likely to fail either because their concrete is not strong enough or because they can't handle the weight of trucks that drive over them, a new ...

Do Bicycles Slow Down Cars on Low Speed, Low Traffic Roads? Latest Research Says 'No'

New research demonstrates that bicycles do not significantly reduce passenger car travel speeds on low speed, low volume urban roads without bicycle lanes. The research shows that differences in ...

Wednesday, October 21, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020