advertisement
Energy and Resources 211Ʊ
October 27, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Charging Electric Cars Up to 90% in 6 Minutes

POSTECH Professor Byoungwoo Kang's research team uncovers a new Li-ion battery electrode material that can achieve high-energy density and high power capability per volume without reducing particle ...

Upcycling Polyethylene Plastic Waste Into Valuable Molecules

Researchers develop a one-pot, low temperature catalytic method to turn polyethylene polymers into alkylaromatic ...

A Renewable Solution to Keep Cool in a Warming World

Month-after-month, year-after-year, the world continues to experience record high temperatures. In response to this and exacerbated by a growing global population, it is expected that ...

A New Material for Separating CO2 from Industrial Waste Gases, Natural Gas, or Biogas

With a new material, the greenhouse gas carbon dioxide (CO2) can be specifically separated from industrial waste gases, natural gas, or biogas, and ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:02am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Mathematical Tools Predict If Wave-Energy Devices Stay Afloat in the Ocean

Ocean waves represent an abundant source of renewable energy. But to best use this natural resource, wave-energy converters need to be capable of physically handling ocean waves of different ...

Magnitude Comparison Distinguishes Small Earthquakes from Chemical Explosions in US West

By comparing two magnitude measurements for seismic events recorded locally, researchers can tell whether the event was a small earthquake or a single-fire buried chemical ...

Making Disorder for an Ideal Battery

The lithium batteries that power our electronic devices and electric vehicles have a number of drawbacks. The electrolyte is a flammable liquid and the lithium they're made of is a limited ...

Geologists Solve Puzzle That Could Predict Valuable Rare Earth Element Deposits

Pioneering new research has helped geologists solve a long-standing puzzle that could help pinpoint new, untapped concentrations of some the most valuable rare earth ...

Deep-Seabed Mining Lastingly Disrupts the Seafloor Food Web

Deep-seabed mining is considered a way to address the increasing need of rare metals. However, the environmental impacts are considered to be substantial but remain largely unknown and clear ...

New Solar Panel Design Could Lead to Wider Use of Renewable Energy

Researchers say the breakthrough could lead to the production of thinner, lighter and more flexible solar panels that could be used to power more homes and be used in a wider range of ...

Aerodynamicists Reveal Link Between Fish Scales and Aircraft Drag

A new research study has revealed that fish scale arrays generate a streaky base flow on the surface of the animal which yields important clues into reducing drag - the aerodynamic force that opposes ...

New Findings Pave the Way to Environmentally Friendly Supercapacitors

Similar to batteries, supercapacitors are suitable for the repeated storage of electrical energy. Researchers have now presented a particularly safe and sustainable variant of such a ...

Hydrogen Embrittlement Creates Complications for Clean Energy Storage, Transportation

Hydrogen is becoming a crucial pillar in the clean energy movement, and developing safe and cost-effective storage and transportation methods for it is essential but complicated, because hydrogen can ...

Climate-Friendly Cooling to Help Ease Global Warming

A new study shows that coordinated international action on energy-efficient, climate-friendly cooling could avoid as much as 600 billion tons CO2 equivalent of greenhouse gas emissions in this ...

Team Extracts More Energy from Sunlight With Advanced Solar Panels

Researchers working to maximize solar panel efficiency said layering advanced materials atop traditional silicon is a promising path to eke more energy out of sunlight. A new study shows that by ...

Spinach: Good for Popeye and the Planet

Spinach, when converted from its leafy, edible form into carbon nanosheets, acts as a catalyst for an oxygen reduction reaction in fuel cells and metal-air ...

Two's a Crowd: Nuclear and Renewables Don't Mix

If countries want to lower emissions as substantially, rapidly and cost-effectively as possible, they should prioritize support for renewables, rather than nuclear power, the findings of a major new ...

Lego-Like Assembly of Zeolitic Membranes Improves Carbon Capture

Chemical engineers have developed a new way to manufacture zeolitic membranes, state-of-the-art materials used for gas separation in harsh ...

Ecological Power Storage Battery Made of Vanillin

Researchers have found a way to convert the aromatic substance vanillin into a redox-active electrolyte material for liquid batteries. The technology is an important step towards ecologically ...

Generating Renewable Hydrogen Fuel from the Sea

The power of the sun, wind and sea may soon combine to produce clean-burning hydrogen fuel, according to researchers. The team integrated water purification technology into a new proof-of-concept ...

Untapped Potential Exists for Blending Hydropower, Floating Solar Panels

Hybrid systems of floating solar panels and hydropower plants may hold the technical potential to produce a significant portion of the electricity generated annually across the globe, according to a ...

Air Pollution Leads to Increase in Electricity Usage

High levels of air pollution are forcing people inside to consume more electricity, subsequently causing even greater environmental problems by increasing greenhouse gas ...

This Tiny Device Can Scavenge Wind Energy from the Breeze You Make When You Walk

Most of the wind available on land is too gentle to push commercial wind turbine blades, but now researchers have designed a kind of 'tiny wind turbine' that can scavenge wind energy from ...

New Materials: A Toggle Switch for Catalysis

A special material made of lanthanum, strontium, iron and oxygen can be switched back and forth between two different states: In one state the material is catalytically extremely active, in the other ...

Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Saturday, August 8, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020