advertisement
Nanotechnology 211Ʊ
October 20, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Creating Perfect Edges in 2D-Materials

Ultrathin materials such as graphene promise a revolution in nanoscience and technology. Researchers have now made an important advance within the field. In a recent article they present a method for ...

Radiative Cooler That Cools Down Even Under Sunlight

Now that autumn is upon us, there is a large temperature gap between day and night. This is due to the temperature inversion caused by radiative cooling on the Earth's surface. Heat from the sun ...

Experiments With Twisted 2D Materials Catch Electrons Behaving Collectively

A team reports that carefully constructed stacks of graphene -- a 2D form of carbon -- can exhibit highly correlated electron properties. The team also found evidence that this type of collective ...

Team Extracts More Energy from Sunlight With Advanced Solar Panels

Researchers working to maximize solar panel efficiency said layering advanced materials atop traditional silicon is a promising path to eke more energy out of sunlight. A new study shows that by ...
Latest Headlines
updated 7:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Calcium Bursts Kill Drug-Resistant Tumor Cells

Multidrug resistance (MDR) -- a process in which tumors become resistant to multiple medicines -- is the main cause of failure of cancer chemotherapy. Tumor cells often acquire MDR by boosting their ...

Why Disordered Light-Harvesting Systems Produce Ordered Outcomes

Scientists typically prefer to work with ordered systems. However, a diverse team of physicists and biophysicists found that individual light-harvesting nanotubes with disordered molecular structures ...

Secure Nano-Carrier Delivers Medications Directly to Cells

Researchers have developed a stable nano-carrier for medications. A special mechanism makes sure the drugs are only released in diseased ...

Scientists Shine Light on Tiny Crystals Behind Unexpected Violent Eruptions

In a new study of volcanic processes, scientists have demonstrated the role nanolites play in the creation of violent eruptions at otherwise 'calm' and predictable volcanoes. The study ...

Nanostructures With a Unique Property

Nanoscale vortices known as skyrmions can be created in many magnetic materials. For the first time, researchers have managed to create and identify antiferromagnetic skyrmions with a unique ...

'Trojan Horse' Approach to Kill Cancer Cells Without Using Drugs

Cancer cells are killed in lab experiments and tumor growth reduced in mice, using a new approach that turns a nanoparticle into a 'Trojan horse' that causes cancer cells to ...

New Materials: A Toggle Switch for Catalysis

A special material made of lanthanum, strontium, iron and oxygen can be switched back and forth between two different states: In one state the material is catalytically extremely active, in the other ...

A Multishot Lensless Camera in Development Could Aid Disease Diagnosis

A new type of imaging does not require a lens and uses reconfigurable particle-based masks to take multiple shots of an object. The electric-field directed self-assembling mask technology is expected ...

Scientists Get Soft on 3D Printing

Researchers have developed a new method of 3D-printing gels and other soft materials. It has the potential to create complex structures with nanometer-scale ...

Nanoparticle SARS-CoV-2 Model May Speed Drug Discovery for COVID-19

Scientists have developed a new tool that mimics how the virus that causes COVID-19 infects a cell, potentially speeding the search for treatments against the disease. The tool is a fluorescent ...

New Composite Material Revs Up Pursuit of Advanced Electric Vehicles

Scientists have used new techniques to create a composite that increases the electrical current capacity of copper wires, providing a new material that can be scaled for use in ultra-efficient, ...

NASA's IRIS Spots Nanojets: Shining Light on Heating the Solar Corona

Researchers report the first ever clear images of nanojets -- bright thin lights that travel perpendicular to the magnetic structures in the solar atmosphere, called the corona -- in a process that ...

Engineers Imitate Human Hands to Make Better Sensors

An international research team has developed 'electronic skin' sensors capable of mimicking the dynamic process of human motion. This work could help severely injured people, such as ...

Technique Permits Convenient, Precise Optical Imaging of Individual Proteins

In a new study, researchers describe a method for examining proteins in keen detail. To do this, his group makes clever use of a phenomenon known as surface plasmon resonance (SPR), incorporating it ...

Shape Matters for Light-Activated Nanocatalysts

Points matter when designing nanoparticles that drive important chemical reactions using the power of light, according to recent ...

Engineers Produce a Fisheye Lens That's Completely Flat

Engineers have designed a wide-angle lens that is completely flat. It is the first flat fisheye lens to produce crisp, 180-degree panoramic ...

Most Homemade Masks Are Doing a Great Job, Even When We Sneeze, Study Finds

A new study examined the effectiveness of common household fabrics in blocking droplets. Researchers tested the breathability and droplet-blocking ability of 11 common household fabrics, using a ...

'Floating' Graphene on a Bed of Calcium Atoms

Adding calcium to graphene creates an extremely-promising superconductor, but where does the calcium go? In a new study, a Monash-led team has for the first time confirmed what actually happens to ...

Effective Pathway to Convert CO2 Into Ethylene

The scientists developed nanoscale copper wires with specially shaped surfaces to catalyze a chemical reaction that reduces greenhouse gas emissions while generating ethylene -- a valuable chemical ...

Anti-Reflective Coating Inspired by Fly Eyes

The eyes of the fruit fly are covered by a thin and transparent coating with anti-reflective, anti-adhesive properties. Researchers discovered that the coating only consists of two ingredients: ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Saturday, August 22, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020