advertisement
Quantum Computing 211Ʊ
October 22, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Quantum Engines With Entanglement as Fuel?

It's still more science fiction than science fact, but perfect energy efficiency may be one step closer due to new research by ...

Slowing Light in an Optical Cavity With Mechanical Resonators and Mirrors

Scientists have demonstrated the theory behind how a cavity optomechanical system induces OMIT and reduces the speed of ...

What Laser Color Do You Like?

Researchers have developed a microchip technology that can convert invisible near-infrared laser light into any one of a panoply of visible laser colors, including red, orange, yellow and green. ...

Finding the Right Color to Control Magnets With Laser Pulses

Scientists have discovered a new way to manipulate magnets with laser light pulses shorter than a trillionth of a second. The international team of researchers also identified the light wavelength or ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:03am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Physicist Joins International Effort to Unveil the Behavior of 'Strange Metals'

Physicists have solved the puzzle of the NFL behavior in interacting electrons systems, and provided a protocol for the establishment of new paradigms in quantum metals, through quantum many-body ...

Teaching an Old Spectroscope New Tricks

Researchers have improved a method for probing semiconducting crystals with light to detect defects and impurities. The details of their 'omnidirectional photoluminescence (ODPL) ...

Sensor With 100,000 Times Higher Sensitivity Could Bolster Thermal Imaging

New research developed a new microwave radiation sensor with 100,000 times higher sensitivity than currently available commercial sensors. Researchers said better detection of microwave radiation ...

Machine Learning Homes in on Catalyst Interactions to Accelerate Materials Development

A machine learning technique rapidly rediscovered rules governing catalysts that took humans years of difficult calculations to reveal -- and even explained a deviation. The team that developed the ...

Antiferromagnet Lattice Arrangements Influence Phase Transitions

New research reveals that the nature of the boundary at which an antiferromagnet transitions to a state of disorder slightly depends on the geometry of its lattice ...

Avoiding Environmental Losses in Quantum Information Systems

New research has revealed how robust initial states can be prepared in quantum information systems, minimizing any unwanted transitions which lead to losses in quantum ...

To Kill a Quasiparticle: A Quantum Whodunit

Quasiparticles die young, lasting far, far less than a second. Why? A new Monash University study finds a culprit beyond the usual suspect (decay into lower energy states). Identification of the new ...

Physicists Develop a Method to Improve Gravitational Wave Detector Sensitivity

Gravitational wave detectors opened a new window to the universe by measuring the ripples in spacetime produced by colliding black holes and neutron stars, but they are ultimately limited by quantum ...

Spin Clean-Up Method Brings Practical Quantum Computers Closer to Reality

Researchers create a quantum algorithm that removes spin contaminants while making chemical calculations on quantum computers. This allows for predictions of electronic and molecular behavior with ...

New System Detects Faint Communications Signals Using the Principles of Quantum Physics

Researchers have devised and demonstrated a system that could dramatically increase the performance of communications networks while enabling record-low error rates in detecting even the faintest of ...

New Possibilities for Working With Quantum Information

The spin of particles can be manipulated by a magnetic field. This principle is the basic idea behind magnetic resonance imaging as used in hospitals. A surprising effect has now been discovered in ...

A Question of Reality

Physicists have published a review that explores Bell's inequalities and his concepts of reality and explains their relevance to quantum information and its ...

New Approach to Exotic Quantum Matter

Researchers report on new advances in the understanding of fractional angular momentum and anyon statistics of impurities in Laughlin ...

Nanoparticle SARS-CoV-2 Model May Speed Drug Discovery for COVID-19

Scientists have developed a new tool that mimics how the virus that causes COVID-19 infects a cell, potentially speeding the search for treatments against the disease. The tool is a fluorescent ...

Extra Stability for Magnetic Knots

Tiny magnetic whirls that can occur in materials - so-called skyrmions - hold high promises for novel electronic devices or magnetic memory in which they are used as bits to store information. A ...

Why There Is No Speed Limit in the Superfluid Universe

Physicists have established why objects moving through superfluid helium-3 lack a speed limit; exotic particles that stick to all surfaces in the superfluid. The discovery may guide applications in ...

New Design Principles for Spin-Based Quantum Materials

A new design criteria for enhancing the spin lifetime of a class of quantum materials could support Internet of Things devices and other resource-intensive ...

A Quantum Thermometer for Measuring Ultra-Cold Temperatures

In everyday life, measuring temperature is pretty straightforward. But in the quantum world, which deals with the super small and the ultra-cold, determining how hot or cold something is starts to ...

Reviewing the Quantum Material 'Engine Room'

An Australian collaboration reviews the quantum anomalous Hall effect (QAHE), one of the most fascinating and important recent discoveries in condensed-matter physics. QAHE allows zero-resistance ...

Single Photons from a Silicon Chip

Quantum technology holds great promise: Quantum computers are expected to revolutionize database searches, AI systems, and computational simulations. Today already, quantum cryptography can guarantee ...

Monday, October 19, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020