advertisement
Solar Energy 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Promising Strategies for Durable Perovskite Solar Cells

Perovskite materials are increasingly popular as the active layer in solar cells, but internal forces in these materials cause distortions in their crystal structures, reducing symmetry and ...

Tough Love: Intense Glare Helps Next-Gen Solar Tech Through Awkward Phase

Researchers have shown that high-intensity light will reverse light-induced phase segregation in mixed-halide perovskites, enabling bandgap control and maximizing efficiency for potential ...

Colorful Perovskites: Thermochromic Window Technologies

Scientists report a breakthrough in developing a next-generation thermochromic window that not only reduces the need for air conditioning but simultaneously generates ...

New Solar Panel Design Could Lead to Wider Use of Renewable Energy

Researchers say the breakthrough could lead to the production of thinner, lighter and more flexible solar panels that could be used to power more homes and be used in a wider range of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:03pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Teaching an Old Spectroscope New Tricks

Researchers have improved a method for probing semiconducting crystals with light to detect defects and impurities. The details of their 'omnidirectional photoluminescence (ODPL) ...

Untapped Potential Exists for Blending Hydropower, Floating Solar Panels

Hybrid systems of floating solar panels and hydropower plants may hold the technical potential to produce a significant portion of the electricity generated annually across the globe, according to a ...

Air Pollution Leads to Increase in Electricity Usage

High levels of air pollution are forcing people inside to consume more electricity, subsequently causing even greater environmental problems by increasing greenhouse gas ...

Highly Efficient Perovskite Solar Cells With Enhanced Stability and Minimized Lead Leakage

While the power conversion efficiency of perovskite solar cells (PVSCs) has already greatly improved in the past decade, the problems of instability and potential environmental impact are yet to be ...

NASA's IRIS Spots Nanojets: Shining Light on Heating the Solar Corona

Researchers report the first ever clear images of nanojets -- bright thin lights that travel perpendicular to the magnetic structures in the solar atmosphere, called the corona -- in a process that ...

Researcher Analyzes the Use of Solar Energy at US Airports

By studying 488 public airports in the United States, researchers found that 20% of them have adopted solar photovoltaic (PV), commonly known as solar panels, over the last ...

Mirror-Like Photovoltaics Get More Electricity out of Heat

New heat-harnessing 'solar' cells that reflect 99% of the energy they can't convert to electricity could help bring down the price of storing renewable energy as heat, as well as ...

Theoretically, Two Layers Are Better Than One for Solar-Cell Efficiency

Solar cells have come a long way, but inexpensive, thin film solar cells are still far behind more expensive, crystalline solar cells in efficiency. Now, a team of researchers suggests that using two ...

California Offshore Winds Show Promise as Power Source

One of the challenges of moving toward fully renewable energy in California by 2045 is matching production to demand. Consumer demand peaks in the evening when solar energy is no longer available. ...

Battery-Free Game Boy Runs Forever

Researchers develop first-ever battery-free, energy-harvesting, interactive device. And it looks and feels like a retro 8-bit Nintendo Game ...

New Understanding of Electrolyte Additives Will Improve Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells

Dye-sensitised solar cells could perform better thanks to improved understanding of additives in optimizing electrolytes. Researchers have determined that the molecules 4-tert-butylpyridine (tBP) and ...

Molecule to Store Solar Energy Developed

Researchers have developed a molecule that absorbs energy from sunlight and stores it in chemical bonds. A possible long-term use of the molecule is to capture solar energy efficiently and store it ...

New Insights for Sun-Gathering Technologies

Researchers are taking a page from Nature's lesson book. Inspired by the way plants and other photosynthetic organisms collect and use the sun's radiant energy, they hope to develop ...

Wireless Device Makes Clean Fuel from Sunlight, CO2 and Water

Researchers have developed a standalone device that converts sunlight, carbon dioxide and water into a carbon-neutral fuel, without requiring any additional components or ...

Large Tin Monosulfide Crystal Opens Pathway for Next Generation Solar Cells

A team has succeeded in growing large single crystals of tin monosulfide, a material used in next generation solar ...

Climate Change Impact on Green Energy Production

As the climate of the planet is changing, many researchers are looking to more renewable energy sources. Researchers investigate whether the power generated by solar and wind farms would differ ...

Transparent Solar Panels for Windows Hit Record 8 Percent Efficiency

In a step closer to skyscrapers that serve as power sources, researchers have set a new efficiency record for color-neutral, transparent solar ...

Converting Solar Energy to Hydrogen Fuel, With Help from Photosynthesis

Global economic growth comes with increasing demand for energy, but stepping up energy production can be challenging. Recently, scientists have achieved record efficiency for solar-to-fuel ...

Efficient Low-Cost System for Producing Power at Night

Researchers have designed an off-grid, low-cost modular energy source that can efficiently produce power at night. The system uses commercially available technology and could eventually help meet the ...

Perovskite and Organic Solar Cells Rocketed Into Space

Researchers have sent perovskite and organic solar cells on a rocket into space. The solar cells withstood the extreme conditions in space, producing power from direct sunlight and reflective light ...

Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Saturday, June 20, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Friday, April 10, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Friday, February 7, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020