advertisement
Behavior 211Ʊ
October 24, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Humans are born with a part of the brain that is prewired to be receptive to seeing words and letters, setting the stage at birth for people to learn how to read, a new study ...

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy Reduces Insomnia Symptoms Among Young Drinkers

More than half of young adults at risk for alcohol-related harm report symptoms of insomnia. Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is one of the first-line treatments for insomnia, but it's never been ...

Prenatal Cannabis Exposure Linked to Cognitive Deficits, Altered Behavior

Regular cannabis exposure in rats during pregnancy may cause their offspring to have long-term cognitive deficiencies, asocial behavior, and anxiety later in ...

Study Underscores the Gut-Brain Connection, Shows Hunger Hormone Impacts Memory

Rats that lacked the hormone ghrelin tended to eat more frequently and gained more weight. They also showed signs that they could not remember when ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:01pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Multiple Sclerosis as the Flip Side of Immune Fitness

211Ʊ half of the people with multiple sclerosis have the HLA-DR15 gene variant. A study has now shown how this genetic predisposition contributes to the development of the autoimmune disease ...

Could Excessive Sugar Intake Contribute to Aggressive Behaviors, ADHD, Bipolar Disorder?

New research suggests that conditions such as attention deficit hyperactivity syndrome (ADHD), bipolar disorder, and even aggressive behaviors may be linked with sugar intake, and that it may have an ...

Personality Traits Affect Shelter at Home Compliance

A worldwide survey conducted during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic found that people with certain common personality traits were less likely to shelter at home when government policies were ...

Effectiveness of Fitness-Boosting Strategies May Be Linked to Personality Traits

In a randomized clinical trial, the effectiveness of different strategies for boosting physical activity varied according to participants' demographic, psychological, and behavioral ...

Stay in Touch With Your Emotions to Reduce Pandemic-Induced Stress

The coronavirus has ushered in a lot of stress. Psychologists say people can reduce stress by identifying their emotions and taking mindful action to address them. The findings come from a national ...

Teen Brain Differences Linked to Increased Waist Circumference

Differences in the microstructure of the nucleus accumbens (NAcc), a region in the brain that plays an important role in processing food and other reward stimuli, predict increases in indicators of ...

Media Trust Correlated With COVID-19 Prevention Behaviors, Study Finds

A new study finds that whether someone takes proper precautions to fight COVID-19 may be linked to whether they trust right- or left-leaning media ...

Telehealth Trains Parents to Improve Behavior Skills of Children With Autism

Training parents of children with autism spectrum disorder virtually about early behavioral intervention is an accessible and effective approach during the coronavirus pandemic or in other instances ...

Why Writing by Hand Makes Kids Smarter

New brain research shows that writing by hand helps children learn more and remember better. At the same time, schools are going more and more digital, and a European survey shows that Norwegian ...

Social Media Use Linked With Depression, Secondary Trauma During COVID-19

Can't stop checking social media for the latest COVID-19 health information? You might want to take a break, according to researchers who discovered that excessive use of social media for ...

Pandemic Sets Off Future Wave of Worsening Mental Health Issues

Long after a COVID-19 vaccination is developed and years after the coronavirus death toll is tallied, the impact on mental health will linger, continuing to inflict damage if not addressed, according ...

Prenatal Cannabis Exposure Associated With Adverse Outcomes During Middle Childhood

Research shows prenatal cannabis exposure may impact child behavior later in ...

Keeping a Gratitude Journal Reduces Gossip, Incivility in Workplace

Gratitude interventions in the workplace can help employee well-being and managers can use these efforts to foster more respectful behavior in their ...

A Link Between Sensory Neurons Activation and the Immune System

Scientists have developed an implantable technology that enabled the discovery of an interaction between sensory neurons and immune ...

Epidemics and Pandemics Can Exacerbate Xenophobia, Bigotry

Instincts developed to protect us from illnesses can generalize into avoidance of healthy individuals who simply look, speak or live ...

Reprogramming Brain Cells Enables Flexible Decision-Making

Humans, like other animals, have the ability to constantly adapt to new situations. Researchers have utilized a mouse model to reveal which neurons in the brain are in command in guiding adaptive ...

Extremely Social Robotic Fish Helps Unravel Collective Patterns of Animal Groups

Using state-of-the-art robotics, a research team shows that animals' speed is fundamental for collective behavioral patterns, and that ultimately it is the faster individuals that have the ...

Teacher Stress Linked With Higher Risk of Student Suspensions

Just how stressed are teachers? A recent Gallup poll found teachers are tied with nurses for the most stressful occupation in America today. Unfortunately, that stress can have a trickle-down effect ...

Immune System Affects Mind and Body, Study Indicates

Researchers have discovered that a molecule produced by the immune system acts on the brain to change the behavior of ...

TRESK Regulates Brain to Track Time Using Sunlight as Its Cue

Research has found that TRESK, a calcium regulated two-pore potassium channel, regulates the brain's central circadian clock to differentiate behavior between day and ...

Thursday, October 22, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020