advertisement
Brain Injury 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Nerves That Sense Touch May Play Role in Autism

Autism is considered a disorder of the brain. But a new study suggests that the peripheral nervous system, the nerves that control our sense of touch, pain and other sensations, may play a role as ...

Novel Discoveries in Preventing Epileptic Seizures

Researchers have found that an amino acid produced by the brain could play a crucial role in preventing a type of epileptic ...

New Class of Highly Effective Inhibitors Protects Against Neurodegeneration

Neurobiologists have uncovered how a special receptor can lead to cell death. Their fundamental findings on neurodegenerative processes simultaneously led the researchers to a completely new ...

Evidence of Alzheimer's, Parkinson's and MND in Brains of Young People Exposed to Dirty Air

After examining the brainstems of 186 young Mexico City residents aged between 11 months and 27 years of age, researchers, found markers not only of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Gut Hormone Blocks Brain Cell Formation and Is Linked to Parkinson's Dementia

A gut hormone, ghrelin, is a key regulator of new nerve cells in the adult brain, a research team has discovered. It could help pave the way for new drugs to treat dementia in patients with ...

Mosquito-Borne Viruses Linked to Stroke

A deadly combination of two mosquito-borne viruses may be a trigger for stroke, new research has ...

Key Role of Immune Cells in Brain Infection

Researchers have identified the specific type of immune cell that induces brain inflammation in herpes simplex virus (HSV) encephalitis. Crucially, they have also determined the signalling protein ...

Concussions Are a Risk for Young Athletes in All Sports -- Not Just Football, Study Finds

A recent study suggests that high school athletes competing, not only in football, but other sports are at risk for concussion and may need longer recovery time than previously ...

Concussion Discovery Reveals Dire, Unknown Effect of Even Mild Brain Injuries

Even mild concussions cause severe and long-lasting impairments in the brain's ability to clean itself, and this may seed it for Alzheimer's, dementia and other neurodegenerative ...

Vitamin B1 Deficiency a Key Factor in the Development of Alcohol-Related Dementia

A research group has now developed a hypothesis whereby iron deposits in the brain -- resulting from alcohol-induced vitamin B1 deficiency -- can be regarded as key factors in cognitive ...

Older Women With Type 2 Diabetes Have Different Patterns of Blood Use in Their Brains

A researcher is reporting that the brains of older women with Type 2 diabetes do not use as much oxygenated blood as those who don't have the disease. The research is the first to point to ...

Brain's Immune Cells Promising Cellular Target for Therapeutics

Inspired by the need for new and better therapies for neurodegenerative diseases, researchers are exploring the link between uncontrolled inflammation within the brain and the brain's immune ...

Children Use Both Brain Hemispheres to Understand Language, Unlike Adults

Infants and young children have brains with a superpower, of sorts, say neuroscientists. Whereas adults process most discrete neural tasks in specific areas in one or the other of their brain's ...

Brain Estrogen Is Key to Brain Protection When Oxygen Is Low

When the brain isn't getting enough oxygen, estrogen produced by neurons in both males and females hyperactivates another brain cell type called astrocytes to step up their usual support and ...

Strokes in Babies Are Surprisingly Common; Here's How the Body Rushes to the Rescue

New research is shedding light on the development of the brain's immune defenses - and how those defenses respond to strokes that strike one in 4,000 babies in the first month of ...

What Is Cerebral Venous Thrombosis? Study Finds Blood Clot Condition on the Rise

Cerebral venous thrombosis (CVT) occurs when a blood clot forms in one of the veins in the brain, preventing blood from draining out of the brain. A new analysis has found that the incidence of CVT ...

New Blood, New Hope: Transfusions Protect the Brain from Stroke Damage

Neuroscientists found that blood substitution therapy rescues the brains of mice from ischemic damage, a potential breakthrough in stroke ...

Deep Chest Compressions Can Prevent Brain Damage During Cardiac Arrest

Deep chest compressions can crack ribs, but they reduce brain damage during cardiac arrest, reports a new ...

Brain Remapping Dysfunction Causes Spatial Memory Impairment in Alzheimer's Disease

A research group elucidated the brain circuit mechanism that cause of spatial memory impairment in Alzheimer's disease. In the future, improving brain remapping function may reverse spatial ...

Improving Treatment of Spinal Cord Injuries

Bioengineers have created an osmotic therapy device that gently removes fluid from the spinal cord to reduce swelling in injured rats with good results. The device can eventually be scaled up for ...

Key to Dialogue Between Brain Cells to Protect Against Stroke

LSU Health New Orleans research has unlocked a key fundamental mechanism in the communication between brain cells when confronted with stroke and found DHA not only protected neuronal cells and ...

Can Sleep Protect Us from Forgetting Old Memories?

Researchers report that sleep may help people to learn continuously through their lifetime by encoding new memories and protecting old ...

Inflammation Induced Blood-Brain Barrier Dysfunction Studied in Organoids

For this study, the 3D brain organoid was used to model the effects of oxygen deprivation and inflammation on blood brain barrier function to better understand what is happening in a human brain ...

How Renegade Protein Interrupts Brain Cell Function in Alzheimer's Disease

Dozens of molecules may tangle up with rogue bundles of tau, a protein that normally gives nerve fibers structure, to cause brain cell damage that contributes to neurodegenerative diseases, a new ...

Thursday, October 22, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Friday, June 5, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Friday, February 28, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Friday, January 31, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Tuesday, December 10, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Monday, December 2, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019