advertisement
Depression 211Ʊ
October 20, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Clues 211Ʊ the Link Between Stress and Depression

Researchers have identified a protein in the brain that is important both for the function of the mood-regulating substance serotonin and for the release of stress hormones, at least in mice. The ...

Insomnia Treatment Offers Relief

Insomnia causing sleepless nights, daytime fatigue and poor health outcomes is a cycle worth busting, experts say, with depression, anxiety and stress a common co-occurrence. A study of more than 450 ...

Low Level Alcohol Use During Pregnancy Can Impact Child's Brain Development

A new study finds any alcohol use during pregnancy, even low levels, is associated with subtle, yet significant behavioural and psychological effects in children including anxiety, depression and ...

Weighted Blankets Can Decrease Insomnia Severity

Weighted blankets are a safe and effective intervention in the treatment of insomnia, according to researchers who found that insomnia patients with psychiatric disorders experienced reduced insomnia ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:30pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Multiple Neurodevelopmental Conditions May Lead to Worse Educational Outcomes

Scottish children with multiple neurodevelopmental conditions experience greater school absenteeism and exclusion, poorer exam attainment and increased unemployment, according to a ...

Major Deficits in Addressing Mental Health Needs of Asylum Seekers

A new study of asylum seekers in Germany suggests that, among those with symptoms of depression, anxiety, or posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD), few receive a diagnosis from the health care system, ...

Internet Gaming Youth Not More Prone to Psychiatric Disorders

Children who show addiction-like gaming signs are not any more susceptible to mental health problems than their non-gaming peers. Some even experience less anxiety than others, according to ...

Social Media Use Linked With Depression, Secondary Trauma During COVID-19

Can't stop checking social media for the latest COVID-19 health information? You might want to take a break, according to researchers who discovered that excessive use of social media for ...

Job Security, Finances Strongly Related to Increased Anxiety During Pandemic

For people still employed during the COVID-19 pandemic, job insecurity and financial concern are associated with greater symptoms of depression and anxiety, according to a new ...

Suspension of Fertility Treatments During COVID-19 Has Mental Health Impacts

The suspension of fertility treatments due to the COVID-19 pandemic has had a variety of psychological impacts on women whose treatments were cancelled, but there are several protective factors that ...

Potential Target Identified for Migraine Therapy

Researchers have identified the protein GLT-1 as the neurotransmitter glutamate transporter in the brain that is related to cortical spreading depression, a pathological condition that underlies ...

Loneliness Predicts Development of Type 2 Diabetes

New research has shown for the first time that people over 50 who report higher levels of loneliness are more likely to develop type 2 diabetes later in ...

Certain Coping Strategies Can Help Offset Pandemic's Mental Health Hits

The early days of the COVID-19 pandemic contributed to negative mental health effects for many in the U.S., according to new Penn State research. But the researchers also found that some coping ...

Anxiety and Depression Are Associated With Medical Care Avoidance During the Pandemic

New research shows U.S. adults who experience common symptoms of anxiety and depression are at greater risk of delaying medical care and not receiving non-COVID-19 medical care amidst the ...

COVID-19 Has Likely Tripled Depression Rate, Study Finds

A new study finds that 27.8 percent of U.S. adults had depression symptoms as of mid-April, compared to 8.5 percent before the COVID-19 ...

Depression Worsens Over Time for Older Caregivers of Newly Diagnosed Dementia Patients

Caring for a partner or spouse with a new diagnosis of Alzheimer's or related dementia is associated with a 30 percent increase in depressive symptoms, compared to older adults who don't ...

Don't Forget to Clean Robotic Support Pets, Study Says

Robotic support pets used to reduce depression in older adults and people with dementia acquire bacteria over time, but a simple cleaning procedure can help them from spreading illnesses, according ...

How 'Swapping Bodies' With a Friend Changes Our Sense of Self

A new study shows that, when pairs of friends swapped bodies in a perceptual illusion, their beliefs about their own personalities became more similar to their beliefs about their friends' ...

Depressed or Anxious Teens Risk Heart Attacks in Middle Age

Depression or anxiety in adolescence is linked with a 20% greater likelihood of having a heart attack mid-life, according to new ...

One Step Closer to Earlier Diagnosis of Bipolar Disorder and Psychoses

Researchers have identified genetic risk factors for developing bipolar disorder and psychoses among people with depression. In the longer term, the results may contribute to ensuring the correct ...

Who Could Benefit from Exercise and Behavioral Treatment?

Aerobic exercise clearly benefits young adults with major depression, and a study suggests it may be possible to predict those who would benefit from behavioral therapy with exercise. Unique to this ...

None of the Most Common Blood Pressure Medications Increased the Risk of Depression, Some Lowered the Risk

Among the 41 most common blood pressure medications, none of them raised the risk of depression, according to an analysis from Denmark. The study also found that some high blood pressure medications ...

Study Finds Signs of Altruism in People's COVID-19 Worries

A new study demonstrates that people are more concerned about whether their family members could contract COVID-19 or if they are unknowingly spreading the virus themselves than they are with ...

Older Adults With Existing Depression Show Resilience During the Pandemic

A multi-site study finds that seniors are more concerned with being infected with COVID-19 than the effects of social ...

Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Sunday, June 7, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Sunday, May 31, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Monday, February 10, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Monday, December 23, 2019
Friday, December 20, 2019