advertisement
Perception 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

'Spooky' Similarity in How Brains and Computers See

The brain detects 3D shape fragments (bumps, hollows, shafts, spheres) in the beginning stages of object vision - a newly discovered strategy of natural intelligence that researchers also found in ...
Humans are born with a part of the brain that is prewired to be receptive to seeing words and letters, setting the stage at birth for people to learn how to read, a new study ...
Researchers have linked a brain region to what they call neural polarization, offering a glimpse into the partisan brain in the weeks leading up to what is arguably the most ...

Nerves That Sense Touch May Play Role in Autism

Autism is considered a disorder of the brain. But a new study suggests that the peripheral nervous system, the nerves that control our sense of touch, pain and other sensations, may play a role as ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

War Songs and Lullabies Behind Origins of Music

Love is not the primary reason humans developed music. A new evolutionary theory of the origins of music argues more evidence supports music coming from the need for groups to impress allies and ...

Study Finds Odor-Sensing Neuron Regeneration Process Is Adaptive

Results show that diminished odor stimulation reduces the number of newly-generated neurons that express particular odorant receptors, indicating a selective alteration in the neurogenesis of these ...

Screen Time Can Change Visual Perception -- And That's Not Necessarily Bad

The coronavirus pandemic has shifted many of our interactions online, with Zoom video calls replacing in-person classes, work meetings, conferences and other events. Will all that screen time damage ...

Antidepressant Drug Effective in Treating 'Lazy Eye' in Adults

Researchers reveal how subanesthetic ketamine, which is used for pain management and as an antidepressant in humans, is effective in treating adult amblyopia, a brain disorder commonly known as ...

Study Suggests Link Between Unexplained Miscarriages and How Women Perceive Men's Body Odor

Women who have suffered unexplained repeated pregnancy loss (uRPL) have altered perceptions and brain responses to male body odors, in comparison to those with no history of uRPL, suggests a new ...

Tone of Voice Matters in Neuronal Communication

Neuronal communication is so fast, and at such a small scale, that it is exceedingly difficult to explain precisely how it occurs. An observation enabled by a custom imaging system, has led to a ...

Research Challenges Conventional Wisdom 211Ʊ Key Autism Trait

A new study into the causes of sensorimotor impairments prevalent among autistic people could pave the way for better treatment and management in the future, say ...

New Education 'Hubs' for Deaf Children Needed to Replace Social Spaces Lost When Specialist Schools Close

New dedicated hubs for deaf children are needed around the country to provide new social spaces, education and support, an expert has ...

Researchers Explore How the Human Brain Is So Resilient

Future technology may be able to monitor and modify the brain to produce enhanced team performance, while increasing the efficiency and accuracy of ...

Being held by a parent with skin-to-skin contact reduces how strongly a newborn baby's brain responds to a painful medical jab, a new study ...

World First Study Links Obesity With Reduced Brain Plasticity

A world-first study has found that severely overweight people are less likely to be able to re-wire their brains and find new neural pathways, a discovery that has significant implications for people ...

How Night Vision Is Maintained During Retinal Degenerative Disease

New insight on how people with retinal degenerative disease can maintain their night vision for a relatively long period of time has just been ...

Neurobiology: To Keep Pain in Check, Count Down

Diverse cognitive strategies affect our perception of pain. Studies have now linked the phenomenon to the coordinated activity of neural circuits located in different brain ...

A Computer Predicts Your Thoughts, Creating Images Based on Them

Researchers have developed a technique in which a computer models visual perception by monitoring human brain signals. In a way, it is as if the computer tries to imagine what a human is thinking ...

Live Imaging Method Brings Structural Information to Mapping of Brain Function

Neuroscientists distinguish brain regions based on what they do, but now have a new way to overlay information about how they are built, ...

Reprogramming Brain Cells Enables Flexible Decision-Making

Humans, like other animals, have the ability to constantly adapt to new situations. Researchers have utilized a mouse model to reveal which neurons in the brain are in command in guiding adaptive ...

Real Neurons Are Noisy: Can Neural Implants Figure That Out?

Signals sent from the retina to the brain have a lot of background noise, yet we see the world clearly. Researchers show that to achieve visual clarity the brain must accurately measure how this ...

New Dopamine Sensors Could Help Unlock the Mysteries of Brain Chemistry

Scientists developed dLight1, a single fluorescent protein-based biosensor. This sensor allows high resolution, real-time imaging of the spatial and temporal release of dopamine in live animals. Now, ...

New Study Explores If Flirting Is Real and Shows It Can Work

Misunderstandings about flirting can potentially result in awkwardness or even accusations of sexual harassment. How can we figure out what other people mean when they smile at us? Is there a unique, ...

Role of Protein in Development of New Hearing Hair Cells

Researchers have conducted a study that has determined the role that a critical protein plays in the development of hair cells. These hair cells are vital for hearing. Some of these cells amplify ...

Monday, October 26, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020