advertisement
Social Psychology 211Ʊ
October 21, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Marriage or Not? Rituals Help Dating Couples Decide Relationship Future

Rituals such as those centered around holidays and other celebrations play an important part in human relationships. When dating couples engage in rituals together, they learn more about each other. ...

Empathy Exacerbates Discussions 211Ʊ Immigration

Discussions about immigration are heated, even antagonistic. But what happens when supporters and opponents undertake to show more empathy? A study reveals that people who support immigration are ...

Relationship Value and Economic Value Are Evaluated by the Same Part of the Brain

Researchers have revealed that the orbitofrontal cortex, the part of the brain responsible for calculating economic value, is also responsible for ...

Study Links Eating Disorders With Body Dysmorphia

People with eating disorders are 12 times more likely to be preoccupied with perceived flaws in their physical appearance than those without, according to new ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

'Use It or Lose It': Regular Social Engagement Linked to Healthier Brain Microstructure in Older Adults

Older people who report greater levels of social engagement have more robust gray matter in regions of the brain relevant in dementia, according to new research. It is the first to use a particularly ...

Effectiveness of Fitness-Boosting Strategies May Be Linked to Personality Traits

In a randomized clinical trial, the effectiveness of different strategies for boosting physical activity varied according to participants' demographic, psychological, and behavioral ...

Pandemic-Related Stress Leads to Less Employee Engagement

As COVID-19 cases surged this spring, the pandemic led some people more than others to ponder their own mortality. A new study in China and the United States suggests that these people were the ones ...

Media Trust Correlated With COVID-19 Prevention Behaviors, Study Finds

A new study finds that whether someone takes proper precautions to fight COVID-19 may be linked to whether they trust right- or left-leaning media ...

People Use, Trust Different COVID-19 Information Sources Depending on Gender, Age, and Other Factors

Gender, age, education level, and political affiliation predict where people turn for information about COVID-19 -- and what sources they use and trust is linked to differing beliefs about the ...

Same-Gender Couples Interact Better Than Heterosexual Couples, Study Finds

Same-gender couples have higher-quality interactions with one another than heterosexual couples in Southern California, a new study finds. The study also holds that couples with two men have the ...

Telehealth Trains Parents to Improve Behavior Skills of Children With Autism

Training parents of children with autism spectrum disorder virtually about early behavioral intervention is an accessible and effective approach during the coronavirus pandemic or in other instances ...

Reducing the High Social Cost of Death

Researchers in Japan report on how bereavement can have far-reaching implications to an individual's health and their economic status. Deeper grief caused by the death of a loved one, correlates ...

Women More Likely to Embrace Behaviors Aimed at Preventing the Spread of COVID-19

Women are more likely than are men to follow guidelines outlined by medical experts to prevent the spread of COVID-19, new research ...

COVID-19: Social Dilemmas 211Ʊ Protective Measures

The psychosocial profile of people who resist adopting suitable protective behaviors against the transmission of the SARS-CoV-2 virus provides valuable information about preventing ...

Internet Gaming Youth Not More Prone to Psychiatric Disorders

Children who show addiction-like gaming signs are not any more susceptible to mental health problems than their non-gaming peers. Some even experience less anxiety than others, according to ...

Can Mobile Tech Offer New Pathways to Improve Recovery from Serious Traumatic Injuries?

Serious traumatic injuries are a health event that can begin a trajectory toward chronic health and social challenges. Research on patient outcomes following traumatic injuries establishes the ...

Social Media Use Linked With Depression, Secondary Trauma During COVID-19

Can't stop checking social media for the latest COVID-19 health information? You might want to take a break, according to researchers who discovered that excessive use of social media for ...

How Do Americans View the Virus? Anthropology Professor Examines Attitudes, Perceptions of COVID-19

A new study looks at how Americans' attitudes and responses have changed during the time of the pandemic and how to many people, the virus is not a biological agent but instead a malicious ...

Loneliness Levels High During COVID-19 Lockdown

During the initial phase of COVID-19 lockdown, rates of loneliness among people in the UK were high and were associated with a number of social and health factors, according to a new ...

New Education 'Hubs' for Deaf Children Needed to Replace Social Spaces Lost When Specialist Schools Close

New dedicated hubs for deaf children are needed around the country to provide new social spaces, education and support, an expert has ...

Job Security, Finances Strongly Related to Increased Anxiety During Pandemic

For people still employed during the COVID-19 pandemic, job insecurity and financial concern are associated with greater symptoms of depression and anxiety, according to a new ...

Who's Tweeting 211Ʊ Scientific Research? And Why?

Although Twitter is best known for its role in political and cultural discourse, it has also become an increasingly vital tool for scientific communication. A new study shows that Twitter users can ...

Suspension of Fertility Treatments During COVID-19 Has Mental Health Impacts

The suspension of fertility treatments due to the COVID-19 pandemic has had a variety of psychological impacts on women whose treatments were cancelled, but there are several protective factors that ...

As Pandemic Progressed, People's Perceived Risks Went Up

A recent study documents how personal risk assessment and protective behaviors are ...

Monday, October 19, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Friday, July 17, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Monday, July 13, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020