advertisement
Botany 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Geologists Simulate Soil Conditions to Help Grow Plants on Mars

Humankind's next giant step may be onto Mars. But before those missions can begin, scientists need to make scores of breakthrough advances, including learning how to grow crops on the red ...

Species Loss Affects Basis of Life of Humans

Current species loss also affects our food, water supply, building materials and energy sources. This is confirmed by one of the biggest biodiversity experiments. Researchers found that ecosystem ...

Discovery Adds New Species a Lab's Ghoulish Insect Menagerie

A horrifying insect soap opera with vampires, mummies and infant-eating parasites plays out on the stems and leaves of oak trees every day, and an evolutionary biologist found the latest player, a ...

Plants Communicate at a Molecular Level

Biologists have discovered how tomato plants identify Cuscuta as a parasite. The plant has a protein in its cell walls that is identified as 'foreign' by a receptor in the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Protective Shield: Membrane-Attached Protein Protects Bacteria and Chloroplasts from Stress

Stress is present everywhere, even bacteria and plant cells have to cope with it. They express various specific stress proteins, but how exactly this line of defense works is often not clear. A group ...

Phosphate Polymer Forms a Cornerstone of Metabolic Control

In a changing climate, understanding how organisms respond to stress conditions is increasingly important. New work could enable scientists to engineer the metabolism of organisms to be more ...

Plant-Based Thermotherapy Patch

Researchers have developed a biodegradable, transparent, flexible and fast-acting thermotherapy patch from plant leaves. The patch is compatible with flexible electronic applications. Plant material ...

Artificial Cyanobacterial Biofilm Can Sustain Green Ethylene Production for Over a Month

Ethylene is one of the most important and widely used organic chemicals. A research group has designed a thin-layer artificial biofilm with embedded cyanobacterial cell factories which were ...

Laser Technology Measures Biomass in World's Largest Trees

Laser technology has been used to measure the volume and biomass of giant Californian redwood trees for the first time, records a new ...

How Leaves Reflect Light Reveals Evolutionary History of Seed Plants

The way leaves reflect light, known as plant reflectance spectra, can illuminate the evolutionary history of seed plants, according to researchers. The researchers found that by measuring the light ...

More Diversity Needed in Oil Palm Plantations

Growing global demand for palm oil has led to a rapid spread of oil palm monoculture plantations in South East Asia, often associated with the loss of habitats and biodiversity. Plantations are ...

Trees and Lawns Beat the Heat

As climate change pushes many cities towards dangerous temperatures, planners are scrambling to mitigate excessive heat. One strategy is to replace artificial surfaces with vegetation cover. In ...

Rainforest Model Offers Glimpse Into Future of the Amazon

Tropical Forests may be more resilient to climate change than previously thought, according to ecologists. The results help solve an ongoing debate about the mechanism responsible for declines in ...

The Effects of Repeated Droughts on Different Kinds of Forests

Drought is endemic to the American West along with heatwaves and intense wildfires. But scientists are only beginning to understand how the effects of multiple droughts can compound to affect forests ...

Dueling Proteins Give Shape to Plants

In order to thrive, plants must integrate a variety of sometimes-subtle signals in their environment, from day length to nutrient presence. Biologists have unpacked how two competing proteins help ...

Planting Parasites: Unveiling Common Molecular Mechanisms of Parasitism and Grafting

Using the model Orobanchaceae parasitic plant Phtheirospermum japonicum, scientists have discerned the molecular mechanisms underlying plant parasitism and cross-species grafting, pinpointing one ...

Climate Patterns Linked in Amazon, North and South America, Study Shows

Researchers have developed a tree-ring chronology from the Amazon River basin that established a link between climate patterns in the Amazon and the ...

Taking Sides: Factors That Influence Patterns in Protein Distribution

A new article has found that even cells in isolation can become polarized to create the head to tail pattern, and that this polarity can orient how the cell ...

Dietary Migration of Impala Rivals the Geographical Migration of Serengeti Wildebeest

A new study shows the Impala's migration is a 'dietary migration', where they switch from eating mostly grass in the wet season, to eating more tree leaves or 'browse' during ...

The banyan fig tree Ficus microcarpa is famous for its aerial roots, which sprout from branches and eventually reach the soil. The tree also has a unique relationship with a wasp that has coevolved ...

Long-Term Consequences Difficult to Predict

A research team has investigated the consequences of changes in plant biodiversity for the functioning of ecosystems. The scientists found that the relationships between plant traits and ecosystem ...

CRISPRing Trees for a Climate-Friendly Economy

Researchers have discovered a way to stably fine-tune the amount of lignin in poplar by applying CRISPR/Cas9 technology. Lignin is one of the main structural substances in plants and it makes ...

Evolution in Action: New Plant Species in the Swiss Alps

A new plant species named Cardamine insueta appeared in the region of Urnerboden in the Swiss alps, after the land has changed from forest to grassland over the last 150 years. The inheritance of two ...

Shattering Expectations: Novel Seed Dispersal Gene Found in Green Millet

Researchers generated genome sequences for nearly 600 green millet plants and released a very high-quality reference S. viridis genome sequence and also identified a gene related to seed dispersal in ...

Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Saturday, October 10, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Saturday, September 12, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020