advertisement
Extinction 211Ʊ
October 21, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Protected Areas Help Waterbirds Adapt to Climate Change

Climate change pushes species distribution areas northward. However, the expansion of species ranges is not self-evident due to e.g. habitat degradation and unsustainable harvesting caused by human ...

Cheaters Don't Always Win: Species That Work Together Do Better

The sign of a healthy personal relationship is one that is equally mutual - where you get out just as much as you put in. Nature has its own version of a healthy relationship. A team of researchers ...

Driver of the Largest Mass Extinction in the History of the Earth Identified

252 million years ago, at the transition from the Permian to the Triassic epoch, most of the life forms existing on Earth became extinct. Using ...

World's Greatest Mass Extinction Triggered Switch to Warm-Bloodedness

Mammals and birds today are warm-blooded, and this is often taken as the reason for their great ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:05pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

More Diversity Needed in Oil Palm Plantations

Growing global demand for palm oil has led to a rapid spread of oil palm monoculture plantations in South East Asia, often associated with the loss of habitats and biodiversity. Plantations are ...

Most Nations Failing to Protect Nature in COVID-19 Pandemic Recovery Plans

The COVID-19 pandemic provides an opportunity to reset the global economy and reverse decades of ecosystem and species losses, but most countries are failing to invest in nature-related economic ...

Zoologists Uncover New Example of Rapid Evolution -- Meet the Sulawesi Babblers

Zoologists have discovered that male and female Sulawesi Babblers (Pellorneum celebense, a species of bird) have evolved to attain different sizes on small islands, and in quick-fire time. They ...

Double Jeopardy for Ecologically Rare Birds and Terrestrial Mammals

Common assumptions notwithstanding, rare species can play unique and essential ecological roles. After studying two, scientists have demonstrated that, though these species are found on all ...

Past Tropical Forest Changes Drove Megafauna and Hominin Extinctions

Researchers have discovered that Southeast Asia, today renowned for its lush rainforests, was at various points in the past covered by sweeping grasslands. The expansion and reduction of these ...

Long-Term Consequences Difficult to Predict

A research team has investigated the consequences of changes in plant biodiversity for the functioning of ecosystems. The scientists found that the relationships between plant traits and ecosystem ...

Toothless Dino's Lost Digits Point to Spread of Parrot-Like Species

A newly discovered species of toothless, two-fingered dinosaur has shed light on how a group of parrot-like animals thrived more than 68 million years ...

New Study Rebuts 75-Year-Old Belief in Reptile Evolution

A statistical analysis of that vast database is helping scientists better understand the evolution of these cold-blooded vertebrates by contradicting a widely held theory that major transitions in ...

The First Human Settlers on Islands Caused Extinctions

Though some believe prehistoric humans lived in harmony with nature, a new analysis of fossils shows human arrival in the Bahamas caused some birds to be lost from the islands and other species to be ...

Disproportionate Extinction of South American Mammals When Americas Collided Evident Today

North American mammals were the winners when the North and South American continents collided millions of years ago. New research shows that South American mammals went extinct at a ...

Body Size of the Extinct Megalodon Indeed Off the Charts in the Shark World

A new study shows that the body size of the iconic gigantic or megatooth shark, about 15 meters (50 feet) in length, is indeed anomalously large compared to body sizes of its ...

Future Climate Changes in Nature Reserves

The Earth's nature reserves are set to be affected by future climate change in very different ways. Detailed local knowledge of climate change impacts can therefore make a significant ...

Mud-Slurping Chinless Ancestors Had All the Moves

Researchers have revealed our most ancient ancestors were ecologically diverse, despite lacking jaws and paired ...

Alien Species to Increase by 36% Worldwide by 2050

The number of alien (non-native) species is expected to increase globally by 36% by the middle of this century, compared to 2005, finds new ...

Acropora Spp. Coral Still Thrives in the Holdout Refuge of Coral Gardens, Belize

Coral Gardens Reef in Belize remains a refuge for Acropora spp. coral despite widespread devastation in other areas of the western North Atlantic/Caribbean, according to a new ...

Wildcats Threatened by Their Domestic Cousins

European wildcats, thought to be extinct 50 years ago in the Jura mountains, have since recolonized part of their former territory. This resurgence in an area occupied by domestic cats has gone ...

New Study Reveals How Reptiles Divided Up the Spoils in Ancient Seas

While dinosaurs ruled the land in the Mesozoic, the oceans were filled by predators such as crocodiles and giant lizards, but also entirely extinct groups such as ichthyosaurs and plesiosaurs. Now ...

'Portfolio' of Marine Reserves Enhances Fish Populations

No-take fishing zones on their own act as valuable sources of fish for neighboring reefs. These areas support more fish, which then produce even greater numbers of baby fish. But, just how many ...

Despite High Hopes, Carbon Absorbed by Amazon Forest Recovery Is Dwarfed by Deforestation Emissions

After calculating how much carbon had been lost through deforestation, scientists have discovered that, in more than 30 years, the regrowth of secondary forests in the Brazilian Amazon has offset ...

Sentinels of Ocean Acidification Impacts Survived Earth's Last Mass Extinction

Two groups of tiny, delicate marine organisms, sea butterflies and sea angels, were found to be surprisingly resilient -- having survived dramatic global climate change and Earth's most recent ...

Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Friday, July 31, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020