advertisement
Food and Agriculture 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Kid Influencers Are Promoting Junk Food Brands on YouTube -- Garnering More Than a Billion Views

Kids with wildly popular YouTube channels are frequently promoting unhealthy food and drinks in their videos, warn ...

US Corn Crop's Growing Sensitivity to Drought Revealed

New management approaches and technology have allowed the US. Corn Belt to increase yields despite some changes in climate. However, soil sensitivity to drought has increased significantly, according ...

Pesticides and Food Scarcity Dramatically Reduce Wild Bee Population

The loss of flowering plants and the widespread use of pesticides could be a double punch to wild bee populations. In a new study, researchers found that the combined threats reduced blue orchard bee ...

Sprat, Mollusks and Algae: What a Diet of the Future Might Look Like

Rethinking what we eat is essential if we hope to nourish ourselves sustainably and mind the climate. One option is to seek out alternative food sources from the sea. All the way at the bottom, where ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:05pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Potential New Tool for Frost Screening in Crops

Agricultural scientists and engineers have identified a potential new tool for screening cereal crops for frost ...

Can Organic Plant Protection Products Damage Crops?

Some organic pesticides contain live spores of the fungus Trichoderma to suppress other pathogens. Researchers found one Trichoderma species can cause severe rot in cobs of maize ...

Rapeseed Instead of Soy Burgers: Researchers Identify a New Source of Protein for Humans

Rapeseed has the potential to replace soy as the best plant-based source of protein for humans. In a current study, nutrition scientists found that rapeseed protein consumption has comparable ...

Virus Turns Deadly Fungus from Foe to Friend in Plants

Researchers have discovered that a fungal virus (also called a mycovirus) can convert deadly fungal pathogens into beneficial fungus in rapeseed plants. Once transformed, the fungus boosts the ...

Ribeye-Eating Pigs Demonstrate Protein Quality for Humans

Nearly a decade ago, the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) developed a new index to assess protein quality in foods. The goal, writ large, was to address food security for the ...

Strong Markets for Cultured Meat Across Meat-Reducing Germany and France

New research shows substantial markets for cultured meat and movements towards meat reduced diets across Germany and ...

Connecting the Dots on Food Access

A new study simultaneously examined the preferences of community members and compared those with the community-based programs and resources available to identify the most viable strategies for ...

Glyphosate Residue in Manure Fertilizer Decrease Strawberry and Meadow Fescue Growth

A new study finds that glyphosate residue from herbicides in manure fertilizer decrease the growth of strawberry and meadow fescue as well as runner production of ...

Scientists 'Scent Train' Honeybees to Boost Sunflowers' Seed Production

If you want a dog to hunt something down, it helps to let them sniff an item to pick up the scent. Now, researchers have found that scent training honeybees might work in a similar way -- and that ...

Could Breadfruit Be the Next Superfood? Researchers Say Yes

A fruit used for centuries in countries around the world is getting the nutritional thumbs-up from a team of researchers. Breadfruit, which grows in abundance in tropical and South Pacific countries, ...

Choosing the Right Cover Crop to Protect the Soil

Research helps farmers pick the best cover crops to keep their soil and nutrients in the ...

Fish Oil Without the Fishy Smell or Taste

A new study describes the development of a refining process that scientists deem a superior method to help produce better dietary omega-3 health and dietary supplements containing fish ...

Global Study Reveals Time Running out for Many Soils, but Conservation Measures Can Help

Researchers found more than 90 per cent of the conventionally farmed soils in their global study were thinning, and 16 per cent had lifespans of less than a century. These rapidly thinning soils were ...

Some but Not All US Metro Areas Could Grow All Needed Food Locally, Estimates Study

How local could food be in the U.S.? A modeling study estimates the distance within which metro centers could meet food needs if they tried to feed themselves locally. Some -- but not all -- could ...

Food Mechanics Recipe to Serve Up Healthy Food That Lasts

Researchers are investigating the science of food drying to design faster, cheaper and better ways to store ...

Worldwide Loss of Phosphorus Due to Soil Erosion Quantified for the First Time

Phosphorus is essential for agriculture, yet this important plant nutrient is increasingly being lost from soils around the world. The primary cause is soil erosion. The study shows which continents ...

Dietary Changes Could Produce Big Offsets to Carbon Emissions

Eating less meat and dairy products in favor of plant-based proteins like those found in grains, legumes and nuts could make a huge difference in how much carbon dioxide reaches the ...

Bumblebees Benefit from Faba Bean Cultivation

211Ʊ one third of payments received by farmers are linked to 'greening measures' to promote biodiversity. These have been criticized because the benefits for biodiversity are unclear. ...

Making Dog Food More Delectable by Analyzing Aromas

Dogs aren't known for being picky about their food, eating the same kibble day after day with relish. However, owners of pampered pooches want their pets to have the best possible culinary ...

Bacteria Are in Key Role for Successful Recirculating Aquaculture Farming

Aquaculture is one of the fastest growing food production sectors globally. Due to continuous growth, ecologically, economically and socially sustainable sites for aquaculture are already in use, ...

Friday, October 2, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020