advertisement
Mating and Breeding 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Genome Sequencing Shows Climate Barrier to Spread of Africanized Bees

Since the 1950s, 'Africanized' honeybees have spread north and south across the Americas until apparently coming to a halt in California and northern Argentina. Now genome sequencing of hundreds of ...

Prenatal Cannabis Exposure Linked to Cognitive Deficits, Altered Behavior

Regular cannabis exposure in rats during pregnancy may cause their offspring to have long-term cognitive deficiencies, asocial behavior, and anxiety later in ...
The banyan fig tree Ficus microcarpa is famous for its aerial roots, which sprout from branches and eventually reach the soil. The tree also has a unique relationship with a ...

Zoologists Uncover New Example of Rapid Evolution -- Meet the Sulawesi Babblers

Zoologists have discovered that male and female Sulawesi Babblers (Pellorneum celebense, a species of bird) have evolved to attain different sizes on ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

How an Egg Cell's 'Operating Manual' Sets the Stage for Fertility

Scientists have revealed in unprecedented detail the genetic instructions immature egg cells go through step by step as they mature into functionality. Their findings improve our understanding of how ...

Hidden DNA Fragment the 'Trigger Switch' for Male Development

Biology textbooks may need to be re-written, with scientists finding a new piece of DNA essential to forming male sex organs in ...

Shorebirds More Likely to Divorce After Successful Breeding

Researchers found that a range of factors affected the fidelity and parenting behavior of plovers, rather than being defined by the ...

Salute the Venerable Ensign Wasp, Killing Cockroaches for 25 Million Years

A new study has identified four new species of parasitic, cockroach-killing ensign wasps that became encased in tree resin 25 million years ago and were preserved as the resin fossilized into ...

Bird Genes Are Multitaskers, Say Scientists

Scientists have found that although male and female birds have an almost identical set of genes, they function differently in each sex through a mechanism called alternative ...

The Male Y Chromosome Does More Than We Thought

While the Y chromosome's role was believed to be limited to the functions of the sexual organs, a scientist has shown that it impacts the functions of other organs as ...

Generational Shifts Help Migratory Bats Keep Pace With Global Warming

An international team of scientists demonstrated that in the common noctule bat, one of the largest European bat species, the colonization of hibernacula progresses from lower to higher latitudes ...

Toxic Masculinity: Why Male Funnel Web Spiders Are So Dangerous

A team of researchers has revealed why male funnel web spiders develop much deadlier venom than their female counterparts. The team has spent 20 years investigating delta-hexatoxins, the venom ...

Male Baboons With Female Friends Live Longer

Opposite-sex friendships can have non-romantic benefits. And not just for people, but for our primate cousins, too. A 35-year study of 542 baboons finds that males that have close female friends have ...

Like Humans, Chimpanzees Can Suffer for Life If Orphaned Before Adulthood

A new study shows that orphaned male chimpanzees are less competitive and have fewer offspring of their own than those who continue to live with their mothers. The remaining puzzle is, what is it ...

Sugar Promotes Sperm Longevity in Pig Reproductive Tract

For many livestock species, artificial insemination (AI) is standard. But it can be tricky to achieve success the first time, thanks to variability in ovulation timing across the herd. A new study ...

World's Oldest Animal Sperm Found in Tiny Crustaceans Trapped in Myanmar Amber

New research has led to the discovery of world's oldest animal sperm inside a tiny crustacean trapped in amber around 100 million years ago in ...

Paleontology: The Oldest Known Sperm Cells

An international team of paleontologists has discovered giant sperm cells in a 100-million year-old female ostracod preserved in a sample of amber. Clearly, the tiny crustacean had mated shortly ...

Gene-Edited Livestock 'Surrogate Sires' Successfully Made Fertile

For the first time, scientists have created pigs, goats and cattle that can serve as viable 'surrogate sires,' male animals that produce sperm carrying only the genetic traits of donor ...

Taste Buds May Play Role in Fostering Obesity in Offspring

Food scientists show in animal studies that a mother's high-fat diet may lead to more sweet-taste receptors and a greater attraction to unhealthy food in their offspring - resulting in poor ...

Nonharmful Stress Protects Against Disease in Offspring

Researchers report what is believed to be the first study in a mammalian model documenting the reprogramming of heritability to promote disease resilience in the next ...

Diamondback Moth Uses Plant Defense Substances as Oviposition Cues

Researchers showed that isothiocyanates produced by cruciferous plants to fend off pests serve as oviposition cues. The scientists identified two olfactory receptors whose sole function is to detect ...

Bumblebees Benefit from Faba Bean Cultivation

211Ʊ one third of payments received by farmers are linked to 'greening measures' to promote biodiversity. These have been criticized because the benefits for biodiversity are unclear. ...

Baboon Matriarchs Enjoy Less Stress

You know the type: Loud. Swaggering. Pushy. The alpha male clearly runs the show. Female alphas are often less conspicuous than their puffed up male counterparts, but holding the top spot still has ...

Scientists Find Clues to Queen Bee Failure

Scientists are unraveling the mysteries behind a persistent problem in commercial beekeeping that is one of the leading causes of colony mortality -- queen bee ...

Thursday, October 8, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Monday, September 7, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Monday, April 27, 2020