advertisement
Virology 211Ʊ
October 28, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Why Bats Excel as Viral Reservoirs Without Getting Sick

A new study confirms bats adopt multiple strategies to reduce pro-inflammatory responses, thus mitigating potential immune-mediated tissue damage and disease. Findings provide important insights for ...

New Imaging Method Reveals HIV's Sugary Shield in Unprecedented Detail

Scientists have devised a method for mapping in unprecedented detail the thickets of slippery sugar molecules that help shield HIV from the immune system. Mapping these shields will give researchers ...

CRISPR Meets Pac-Man: New DNA Cut-and-Paste Tool Enables Bigger Gene Edits

Gene editing for the development of new treatments, and for studying disease as well as normal function in humans and other organisms, may advance more quickly with a new tool for cutting larger ...

Plants Communicate at a Molecular Level

Biologists have discovered how tomato plants identify Cuscuta as a parasite. The plant has a protein in its cell walls that is identified as 'foreign' by a receptor in the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Salt-Based Mosquito-Control Products Are Ineffective

A new study by a bevy of expert mosquito researchers offers an important warning to consumers: Products claiming to reduce mosquito populations with salt-water solutions are ineffective. In a series ...

Researchers have identified a number of 'silent' mutations in the roughly 30,000 letters of the COVID-19 virus's genetic code that helped it thrive once it made the leap from bats and ...

Novel Antiviral Strategy for Treatment of COVID-19

Researchers have discovered a novel antiviral strategy for treatment of COVID-19 using existing ...

Australian Carp Virus Plan 'Dead in the Water'

Plans to release a virus to reduce numbers of invasive Common Carp in Australia are unlikely to work and should be dropped, researchers ...

COVID-19 Rapid Test Has Successful Lab Results, Research Moves to Next Stages

Rapid detection of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, in about 30 seconds following the test, has had successful preliminary results. The test uses a nanotube-based electrochemical biosensor, a similar technology ...

Scientists Shed New Light on Viruses' Role in Coral Bleaching

Scientists have shown that viral infection is involved in coral bleaching - the breakdown of the symbiotic relationship between corals and the algae they rely on for ...

Swine Coronavirus Replicates in Human Cells

A strain of coronavirus that has devastated the pork industry has the potential to infect humans as well, according to new ...

Computer Model Uses Virus 'Appearance' to Better Predict Winter Flu Strains

Combining genetic and experimental data into models about the influenza virus can help predict more accurately which strains will be most common during the next winter, says a study published ...

Stopping Lethal Lung Damage from the Flu With a Natural Human Protein

The raging lung inflammation that can contribute to death from the flu can be stopped in its tracks by a drug derived from a naturally occurring human protein, a new animal study ...

Novel Therapeutic Approach Against Epstein-Barr Virus-Associated Tumors

A research team hsd discovered that certain exosomes can effectively control Epstein-Barr virus-associated tumors and induce T-cell anti-tumor immunity. The novel findings provide insights into new ...

Hydroxychloroquine Does Not Counter SARS-CoV-2 in Hamsters, High Dose of Favipiravir Does: Study

Virologists have shown that a treatment with the anti-malaria drug hydroxychloroquine does not limit SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus replication in hamsters. A high dose of the anti-flu drug favipiravir, by ...

HIV Up Close: Unprecedented View of Virus Reveals Essential Steps for Causing AIDS

Accomplishing a feat that had been a pipe dream for decades, scientists have recreated in a test tube the first steps of infection by HIV (human immunodeficiency virus), the virus that causes AIDS ...

Setting a TRAP for Pandemic-Causing Viruses

A new laboratory technique quickly sifts through trillions of synthetic proteins to find ones that can target viruses, helping healthcare authorities rapidly respond to evolving ...

Understanding the Progress of Viral Infections

Researchers have created a viral expression model that can be used to simulate and analyze a large number of viral infections -- including the one with ...

Detecting SARS-CoV-2 in the Environment

Researchers have outlined an approach to characterize and develop an effective environmental monitoring methodology for SARS CoV-2 virus, that can be used to better understand viral persistence in ...

Boosting Chickens' Own Immune Response Could Curb Disease

Broiler chicken producers the world over are all too familiar with coccidiosis, a parasite-borne intestinal disease that stalls growth and winnows flocks. Various approaches, developed over decades, ...

Molecular Mechanism of Cross-Species Transmission of Primate Lentiviruses

A research group showed that gorilla APOBEC3G potentially plays a role in inhibiting SIVcpz replication. Intriguingly, the research group demonstrated that an amino acid substitution in SIVcpz Vif, ...

Vaccine Ingredients Could Be Hiding in Small Molecule Libraries

Scientists have found an ingredient that makes a vaccine more effective through an approach more often seen in materials science -- testing molecules that self-assemble into larger ...

Supercharged 'Clones' Spark Scarlet Fever's Re-Emergence

Scarlet fever is on the rise worldwide, after being almost eradicated by the 1940s. Researchers says supercharged 'clones' of the bacteria Streptococcus pyogenes are to blame for the ...

Diagnosing COVID-19 in Just 30 Minutes

Researchers have developed a one-pot diagnostic method for detecting pathogenic RNAs with PCR-level sensitivity. Diagnostic technology for new infectious diseases can be developed within a week to ...

Tuesday, October 20, 2020
Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Sunday, October 11, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020