advertisement
Environmental Policies 211Ʊ
October 20, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Paper Recycling Must Be Powered by Renewables to Save Climate

The study found that greenhouse gas emissions would increase by 2050 if we recycled more paper, as current methods rely on fossil fuels and electricity from the ...

Bringing People Together on Climate Change

A new study suggests that engaging, high-quality media programming could help Democrats and Republicans see eye to eye when it comes to climate ...

Clean and Clear: How Being More Transparent Over Resources Helps Cut Carbon Emissions

Countries that sign up to improved financial transparency over oil, gas, and mining revenues benefit from significant reductions in carbon emissions, ...
While the ongoing coronavirus pandemic continues to threaten millions of lives around the world, the first half of 2020 saw ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:08pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Energy System 2050: Solutions for the Energy Transition

To contribute to global climate protection, Germany has to rapidly and comprehensively minimize the use of fossil energy sources and to transform the energy system ...

Fraction of Money Earmarked for COVID-19 Recovery Could Boost Climate Efforts

Global stimulus plans for economic recovery after the pandemic could easily cover climate-friendly policies, suggests a new ...

Personality Traits Affect Shelter at Home Compliance

A worldwide survey conducted during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic found that people with certain common personality traits were less likely to shelter at home when government policies were ...

A New, Comprehensive Approach to Measure Inequality in Preventable Child Mortality

A new model can more accurately and efficiently assess which children are at highest risk of preventable death, according to a new ...

Television Advertising Limits Can Reduce Childhood Obesity, Study Concludes

Limiting the hours of television advertising for foods and beverages high in fat, sugar and salt (HFSS) could make a meaningful contribution to reducing childhood obesity, according to a new ...

People Can Do More Than Use Less Plastic to Help Save the Great Barrier Reef

There are many threats to Australia's Great Barrier Reef - cyclones, shipping, crown-of-thorns starfish - but QUT researchers say climate change is its worst enemy. Yet a survey they conducted ...

A Circular Economy Could Save the World's Economy Post-COVID-19

The world's economy is feeling the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic with many industries under threat. Researchers have concluded that adopting circular economy strategies would be the best way ...

Most Nations Failing to Protect Nature in COVID-19 Pandemic Recovery Plans

The COVID-19 pandemic provides an opportunity to reset the global economy and reverse decades of ecosystem and species losses, but most countries are failing to invest in nature-related economic ...

People Use, Trust Different COVID-19 Information Sources Depending on Gender, Age, and Other Factors

Gender, age, education level, and political affiliation predict where people turn for information about COVID-19 -- and what sources they use and trust is linked to differing beliefs about the ...

A Simple Enrollment Change Yields Big Dividends in Children's Early Learning Program

Researchers know that texting programs can greatly benefit young children's literacy. Now new research shows that parents' participation in such programs can be boosted exponentially with ...

National Academies Release Framework for Equitable Allocation of a COVID-19 Vaccine for Adoption by HHS, State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Authorities

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine has released the final report of a consensus study recommending a four-phased equitable allocation framework that the US Department of ...

Coastal Flooding Will Disproportionately Impact 31 Million People Globally

Researchers analyzed these geographic regions, which include cities like New Orleans, Bangkok, and Shanghai, using a new global dataset to determine how many people live on river deltas, how many are ...

COVID-19 Pandemic Has Created Flood of Potentially Substandard Research, Expert Says

The COVID-19 pandemic has created a flood of potentially substandard research amid the rush to publish, with a string of papers retracted or under a cloud and a surge in submissions to pre-print ...

Men Predominate in More Than 85 Percent of COVID-19 Decision-Making/advisory Bodies Globally

Men predominate in more than 85 percent of COVID-19 decision-making and key advisory bodies around the globe, with gender parity in just 3.5 percent, reveals a new ...

Decent Living for All Does Not Have to Cost the Earth

A new study reveals that decent living standards could be provided to the entire global population of 10 billion that is expected to be reached by 2050, for less than 40% of today's global ...

800 Million Children Still Exposed to Lead

Every third child in the world has too much lead in their body, according to a new report from UNICEF and Pure ...

Satellite Imaging to Map Groundwater Use in California's Central Valley

Researchers report in a new study a way to improve groundwater monitoring by using a remote sensing technology (known as InSAR), in conjunction with climate and land cover data, to bridge gaps in the ...

Are China's Pollution Remediation Efforts Making the Planet Warmer?

A 10-year effort by China to improve air quality and reduce pollution-related health risks has caused warming in areas across the northern hemisphere, according to new ...

Achieving Clean Air for All Is Possible, Experts Say

A new study however shows that it is possible to achieve clean air worldwide with fundamental transformations of today's practices in many sectors, supported by strong political ...

COVID-19 Control Rests With Human Behavior, at Least Until a Vaccine Arrives

Personality traits may explain why people willingly and subconsciously refuse to cooperate with authorities or even lie about where they have been during this age of ...

Friday, October 16, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, October 14, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Friday, October 2, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020