advertisement
Galaxies 211Ʊ
October 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Astronomers Are Bulging With Data

For the first time, over 250 million stars in our galaxy's bulge have been surveyed in near-ultraviolet, optical, and near-infrared light, opening the door for astronomers to reexamine key questions ...

Galaxies in the Infant Universe Were Surprisingly Mature

ALMA telescope conducts largest survey yet of distant galaxies in the early ...

Evidence of Broadside Collision With Dwarf Galaxy Discovered in Milky Way

Astrophysicists have discovered a series of telltale shell-like formations of stars in the vicinity of the Virgo constellation, evidence of a radial merger between a dwarf galaxy and the Milky Way, ...

The Milky Way Galaxy Has a Clumpy Halo

Astronomers at the University of Iowa have determined our galaxy is surrounded by a clumpy halo of hot gases that is continually being supplied with material ejected by birthing or dying stars. The ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:02am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

An Unexpected Origin Story for a Lopsided Black Hole Merger

A lopsided merger of two black holes may have an oddball origin story, according to a new ...

Can a Black Hole Fire Up the Cold Heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster?

Radio astronomers have detected jets of hot gas blasted out by a black hole in the galaxy at the heart of the Phoenix Galaxy Cluster, located 5.9 billion light-years away in the constellation ...

Hubble Maps Giant Halo Around Andromeda Galaxy

In a landmark study, scientists using NASA's Hubble Space Telescope have mapped the immense halo of gas enveloping the Andromeda galaxy, our nearest large galactic ...

Rare Encounters Between Cosmic Heavyweights

Astronomers have discovered three pairs of merging galaxies. Each of the galaxies contain a supermassive black hole that's feasting on material surrounding it, creating a phenomenon called a ...

Study Rules out Dark Matter Destruction as Origin of Extra Radiation in Galaxy Center

Through an analysis of the Fermi data and an exhaustive series of modeling exercises, researchers were able to determine that an observed excess of gamma rays could not have been produced by what are ...

Galactic Bar Paradox Resolved in Cosmic Dance

New light has been shed on a mysterious and long-standing conundrum at the very heart of our galaxy. The new work offers a potential solution to the so-called 'Galactic bar paradox', ...

A Galaxy's Stop-and-Start Young Radio Jets

A new VLBA image shows details of a young jet emitted from the core of an active galaxy, revealing that the jet activity stopped, then restarted only a decade ...

Unveiling Rogue Planets With NASA's Roman Space Telescope

New simulations show that NASA's Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope will be able to reveal myriad rogue planets -- freely floating bodies that drift through our galaxy untethered to a ...

Spinning Black Hole Powers Jet by Magnetic Flux

A new letter has been found in the mysterious alphabet of black ...

Mystery Gas Discovered Near Center of Milky Way

Researchers have discovered a dense, cold gas that's been shot out from the center of the Milky Way 'like ...

How Stars Form in the Smallest Galaxies

The question of how small, dwarf galaxies have sustained the formation of new stars over the course of the Universe has long confounded the world's astronomers. An international research team ...

Extremely Young Galaxy Is Milky Way Look-Alike

Astronomers using the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) have revealed an extremely distant and therefore very young galaxy that looks surprisingly like our Milky Way. The galaxy is ...

Classifying Galaxies With Artificial Intelligence

Astronomers have applied artificial intelligence (AI) to ultra-wide field-of-view images of the distant Universe captured by the Subaru Telescope, and have achieved a very high accuracy for finding ...

Surprising Early Galaxy Breaks Low-Oxygen Record

New results achieved by combining big data captured by the Subaru Telescope and the power of machine learning have discovered a galaxy with an extremely low oxygen abundance of 1.6% solar abundance, ...

Strange Dismembered Star Cluster Found at Galaxy's Edge

Astronomers have found the remnant of strange dismembered globular cluster at the edge of the Milky Way, upending theories about how heavy elements formed in early ...

New Cosmic Magnetic Field Structures Discovered in Galaxy NGC 4217

Spiral galaxies such as our Milky Way can have sprawling magnetic fields. There are various theories about their formation, but so far the process is not well understood. An international research ...

How Galaxies Die: New Insights Into the Quenching of Star Formation

Astronomers studying galaxy evolution have long struggled to understand what causes star formation to shut down in massive galaxies. Although many theories have been proposed to explain this process, ...

Breakthrough in Deciphering Birth of Supermassive Black Holes

Scientists say they are closer to understanding how a supermassive black hole (SMBH) is born thanks to a new technique that has enabled them to zoom in on one of these enigmatic cosmic objects in ...

The Cosmic Commute Towards Star and Planet Formation

Interconnected gas flows reveal how star-forming gas is assembled in ...

New Collection of Stars, Not Born in Our Galaxy, Discovered in Milky Way

Astrophysicists announced the discovery of Nyx, a new collection of 250 stars that they believe are the remnant of a dwarf galaxy that merged with the Milky Way eons ago. The research combined ...

Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Friday, July 3, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Sunday, April 19, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Monday, January 6, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Friday, November 15, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Friday, October 25, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Monday, October 14, 2019
Friday, October 11, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Sunday, October 6, 2019
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Wednesday, October 2, 2019