advertisement
Space Exploration 211Ʊ
October 25, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Two days after touching down on asteroid Bennu, NASA's OSIRIS-REx mission team received on Thursday, Oct. 22, images that confirm the spacecraft has collected more than ...
Three decades after astronomer Carl Sagan suggested that Voyager 1 snap Earth's picture from billions of miles away -- resulting in the iconic Pale Blue Dot photograph - two ...
NASA's Origins, Spectral Interpretation, Resource Identification, Security, Regolith Explorer (OSIRIS-REx) spacecraft unfurled its robotic arm Tuesday, and in a first for the ...

Ultraviolet Shines Light on Origins of the Solar System

In the search to discover the origins of our solar system, an international team including planetary scientists has compared the composition of the sun to the composition of the most ancient ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:32pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Astronomers have spotted a rare blast of light from a star being ripped apart by a supermassive black hole. The phenomenon, known as a tidal disruption event, is the closest such flare recorded to ...

Astronomers Find X-Rays Lingering Years After Landmark Neutron Star Collision

It's been three years since the landmark detection of a neutron star merger from gravitational waves. Since that day, an international team of astronomers has been continuously monitoring the ...

In the Eye of a Stellar Cyclone

While on COVID lockdown, a college student has written a research paper on a star system dubbed one of the 'exotic peacocks of the stellar ...

A New Look at Sunspots

NASA's extensive fleet of spacecraft allows scientists to study the Sun extremely close-up - one of the agency's spacecraft is even on its way to fly through the Sun's outer ...

Spitzer Space Telescope Legacy

Scientists have provided an inventory of the major discoveries made possible thanks to Spitzer and offer guidance on where the next generation of explorers should point the James Webb Space Telescope ...

Scientists Study the Rugged Surface of Near-Earth Asteroid Bennu

As the days count down to NASA's OSIRIS-REx spacecraft's Touch-And-Go asteroid sample collection attempt, scientists have determined what the spacecraft can expect to return from the ...

Scientists Peer Inside an Asteroid

New findings from NASA's OSIRIS-REx mission suggest that the interior of the asteroid Bennu could be weaker and less dense than its outer layers -- like a crème-filled chocolate egg flying ...

Signals from Distant Stars Connect Optical Atomic Clocks Across Earth for the First Time

Using radio telescopes observing distant stars, scientists have connected optical atomic clocks on different ...

Researchers Find 'Missing Link' Between Magnetars and Rotation-Powered Pulsars

Researchers have made observations of a new magnetar, called Swift J1818.0-1607, which challenges current knowledge about two types of extreme stars, known as magnetars and ...

New research will help astrobiologists understand how much radiation planets experience during super flares and whether life could exist on worlds beyond our solar ...

Looking for Pieces of Venus? Try the Moon

A growing body of research suggests the planet Venus may have had an Earth-like environment billions of years ago, with water and a thin ...

Moon's Magnetic Crust Research Sees Scientists Debunk Long-Held Theory

New international research into the Moon provides scientists with insights as to how and why its crust is magnetized, essentially 'debunking' one of the previous longstanding ...

Explaining the Formation of a Hexagon Storm on Saturn

Researchers create a new 3D model that could explain the formation of a hexagon storm on Saturn -- a hurricane about 20,000 miles in ...

Astronomers Turn Up the Heavy Metal to Shed Light on Star Formation

Astronomers have developed a new way to study star formation in galaxies from the dawn of time to today. Using a new algorithm to model the energy and wavelengths of light coming from almost 7000 ...

Trans-Neptunian Object Arrokoth: Flattening of a Snowman

The trans-Neptunian object Arrokoth, also known as Ultima Thule, which NASA's space probe New Horizons passed on New Year's Day 2019, may have changed its shape significantly in the first ...

Gemini South's High-Def Version of 'A Star Is Born'

NASA's James Webb Space Telescope is still more than a year from launching, but the Gemini South telescope in Chile has provided astronomers a glimpse of what the orbiting observatory should ...

Some Planets May Be Better for Life Than Earth

Researchers have identified two dozen planets outside our solar system that may have conditions more suitable for life than our own. Some of these orbit stars that may be better than even our ...

Einstein's Description of Gravity Just Got Much Harder to Beat

Astrophysicists put general relativity to a new test with black hole ...

When a star unleashes as much energy in a matter of days as our Sun does in several billion years, you know it's not going to remain visible for long. Like intergalactic paparazzi, NASA's ...

The Most Sensitive Optical Receivers Yet for Space Communications

Communications in space demand the most sensitive receivers possible for maximum reach, while also requiring high bit-rate operations. A novel concept for laser-beam based communications, using an ...

Monday, October 12, 2020
Sunday, October 11, 2020
Friday, October 9, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Saturday, September 26, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Friday, September 18, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Monday, September 14, 2020
Friday, September 11, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Wednesday, September 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Monday, August 31, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Friday, August 21, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Friday, August 7, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020